Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

The Fallen Snow
This topic is about The Fallen Snow
Book Issues > Please Help - Accidentally Broke Link Between Author (me) and Book

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new) - added it

John Kelley | 4 comments I did just submit a request for this as well before realizing this community existed. Also, the book itself (The Fallen Snow, 2 editions) is fine. I am the author and I have accidentally broken the link between my author account and my book editions, as explained below. I apologize profusely. As soon as I saw what had happened, I realized the mistake but by then I was unable to correct the error as the broken link removed my ability to edit my book details.

At any rate, here is my issue:

My name is John J. Kelley. I am a goodreads author with one published book in the goodreads system - THE FALLEN SNOW (paperback - ISBN 0988414805 - & ebook editions - ISBN 0988414813).

I just made what I thought was a minor edit to my book but in doing so I inadvertently "broke" the link between my author account and my book. This is specifically what happened: I noticed that on the book two spaces existed between my middle initial and last name (i.e, it appeared as "John J. Kelley") so I removed the second space on the book profile (paperback edition) and saved the change.

Now THE FALLEN SNOW no longer appears on the list of books related to my author account, though the book itself remains in the system with a combined 51 ratings, 30 reviews and on hundreds of member's bookshelves.

So there is absolutely nothing amiss with the book profile. It simply is no longer connected to my author account. As such, I no longer have librarian rights to edit it. This means, of course, that I was I was unable to edit the book again to add the additional space back to the author name.