Indie Authors discussion

General > Crazy writing habits

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kathleen (new)

Kathleen Morris (kathleenmorris) I have some silly habits when I write. I know other writer's do as well. I want to hear about them.

My number one - I write in the rain. By that I mean, I listen to rain and thunder on my laptop when I write. I don't know why rain motivates me so much, but it does. I love cloudy, rainy, stormy, gloomy, blizzard, wind howling days, and everyone thinks I'm nuts...but...put it together with a day of writing and I'm in heaven!

What odd thing do you do when you write?

message 2: by Adriaan (new)

Adriaan Brae (adriaan_brae) | 7 comments I'm a part-time writer and I find I'm at my most creative right before going to sleep, so most nights I curl up in bed and type raw scenes into my smartphone.

Anyone else routinely write on their phone?

message 3: by Amy (new)

Amy Parker (amy_parker) | 14 comments I'm definitely a night person when it comes to writing, and will happily stay up until two am making words. (Every time I hear people recommend morning pages, I get a pang of dread, because I'm not a morning person and having to do creative stuff before noon is just a distressing thought.)

Two things are a big help in my writing process - cold, sweet drinks, and music. The iced chocolate drinks I keep finding in cafes in Southeast Asia are the best, but cold and sweet are the main factors. (I'm trying to see how well I can do with herbal teas that taste sweet, but don't actually have sugar.) I set up a "Writing music" playlist on iTunes so I can get music running without going "No, this song is not for writing!" and interrupting myself to skip over things.

message 4: by Elly (new)

Elly Helcl (ellymae) | 4 comments Amy, I totally agree!! I can't imagine how other authors write in the morning...my brain doesn't switch on until 9am!

message 5: by Ubiquitous (new)