Critical American Literature discussion

Corporate Governance: Principles, Policies and Practices
This topic is about Corporate Governance
Education > The Modern Influence of Corporate America

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (last edited Jan 26, 2014 10:04AM) (new)

INTRODUCTION

I am studying corporate governance to help me define markets for novels. It is an old concept and a new one, too. Limited liability businesses were created some time ago, and today's fast evolving business world has changed corporate governance dramatically.

Corporations have many employees, and certainly everyone knows something about corporations from the media. Because of these facts, I think that there is a widespread, unconscious understanding of the socialization of corporate businesses among writers and readers of novels.

I expect to present the ideas that I find in Corporate Governance: Principles, Policies, and Practices in this discussion as I find them in the book. Please comment in any way whatsoever about corporate America, keeping in mind the central ideas of rights and duties, fiduciary responsibility, corporate structure, the economics of market capitalization, or other related ideas. Thanks!

Jasmine

message 2: by [deleted user] (last edited Jan 26, 2014 10:04AM) (new)

COMMENTS ABOUT CHAPTER ONE

It is very interesting to see that the roots of corporations come from 1600 and before. England formed the East India Company, which was chartered in 1600 for trade in commodities with India and China. It had stockholders and a board of directors.