The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > newbie here

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alicia (new)

Alicia (aliciawyland) | 3 comments Hi everyone. I'm new here, obviously. I decided to check out some online book clubs in hopes of getting my reading habit back on track and expanding my interests. Any recommendations would be great!

message 2: by Allison (last edited Apr 23, 2009 09:31AM) (new)

Allison (inconceivably) Welcome to TNBBC! You will find a lot of friendly people here ready to push their favorite books on you :)

...and I'm one of them. hehe. I don't know what type of books you like to read, but...

YA Fantasy:
Graceling
The Hunger Games-CAN'T recommend this highly enough

Fantasy Series:
Otori series of 5 books, starts with Across the Nightingale Floor, it takes place in a mythical Japan-like world. Very good.

If you like classics like Pride and Prejudice, try North and South, its much better ;)

Other stuff:
Anne of Green Gables
The Host

I could probably go on for ages, but I know you'll get plenty of others. :)

message 3: by Hayes (new)

Hayes (hayes13) Hi Alicia. Welcome!!

message 4: by Jolene (new)

Jolene Welcome Alicia! To really run wild, check into the seasonal reading challenges and set some goals. After finding that myself, I immediately found about 10 books (from my many, many on my TBR list) and said I need to read these NOW. I like the personal challenge and the discussions are great. Like Allison said, you'll get a lot of referrals, it really is a great group!

message 5: by Atishay (new)

Atishay | 1451 comments Welcome Alicia! No where better to get your reading back.

message 6: by Atishay (new)

Atishay | 1451 comments Welcome Alicia! No where better to get your reading back.

message 7: by Susan C (new)

Susan C (somersetpurplegmailcom) Welcome and what genre's interest you?

message 8: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 10125 comments Mod