History is Not Boring discussion

who writes history?

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jeanne (new)

Jeanne (random_pink) | 3 comments I'm new to this site but wanted to put forward a question or rather a discussion. When the new 7 Wonders of the World were announced last years, some people where very upset about the Great Pyramids of Giza been removed from the list and given an honourary mention, especially Dr Hawass. Actually I would go further and say he was outraged by this. He went on a rant about who should be the ones to decide what is a wonder of the world yada yada yada... Eventually he ended up saying something about why people shouldn't be allowed to decide on such issues because 'The masses don't write history!'...I studied Egyptology for two years and I'm not a fan of the man and I was completely gob smacked by this statement.

What do you think?

message 2: by ☼Book her, (new)

☼Book her,   Danno☼  (pam_t) Interesting question on a number of levels, Jeanie. We always hear that history is written by the victor in any conflict. But these days I'm not so sure that is true. Take Japan for example. It's been said that they edit the history they teach their children, leaving out the war crimes committed in China, etc. But is this unusual?

I'm sure most nations probably edit to some extent, focusing on the positive in children's books. In the US, history is legislated. Thus you get little or no history about Spanish and French influence in colonizing North America. We're very anglo-centric.

And as for Dr. Hawass, I have a hard time taking his concerns seriously. At least as an academic. If he were a finance or travel minister it would be easier to understand his outrage. It's only a 'popular' list afterall, and not some serious academic conclusion.

message 3: by Coyle (new)

Coyle | 15 comments I don't know a whole lot about Hawass, but it's still a great question.