One Wheel Drive discussion

2 legs-2 wheels > What makes a good ride tale?

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Marc (new)

Marc (dnadetective) | 13 comments Mod
Hey motorcycle readers,
Elsewhere on this site, we have shared a discussion about what it is about a road trip.
Do you like books about a road trip?
When you read a road trip book, what is it that keeps you engaged in the story?
Is it the travelogue?
...the people? other ride characters or people met along the way?
...the authors musings? ...deeper story?
...descriptions of the machinery (motorcycles, that is)? ...repairs/break-downs (dare I say "maintenance")?
As a writer, I have covered lots of other topics. I even published a Desiderata for motorcyclists. But I
never tackled a road trip tale but I am playing with one at the moment. Your ideas about a good/great road book are welcome here.

message 2: by Marc (new)

Listopia: Motorcycle fiction (list)
bad boys, bikers, street gangs, thriller or romance.As long as it has the urban feel.

My take on this list: cliche crap from authors that aren't really into motorcycles, just wishful thinkers.

message 3: by Nicole (new)

Nicole Winters When I think of great road books, I think of the road itself as a character. I want to not only imagine myself somewhere other than my living room, but I want to feel the surface beneath my feet (smooth or rough?), smell the air (cornfields or oil refineries?), feel the sun (or rain), or hear the gravel crunch underfoot. I guess I like travel books about the people our hero meets along the way. I'm not one for wanting a mystery or thriller thrown in the mix.

message 4: by Marc (new)