r/books discussion

Introductions > Hi, I'm Ethan

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dallis (new)

Dallis | 2 comments I'm a twenty year old from California, and I'm probably the least qualified person to be on this site. Being a user here kind of implies I have any sort of good taste at all, or that I have any sort of opinion worth recording anywhere.

I read fiction almost exclusively, and most of *that* is science fiction. I prefer stories with life-threatening events. Whether it's some post-apocalypse or something affecting only one person doesn't really matter.

I'd call myself a writer, but that would be an insult to those that do. Instead, I suppose you can say that I press buttons for extended periods of time. I'm developing a video game with a small group of others in my free time, but I work in construction. It's a crappy, repetitive job but it gives me a lot of free time to think about stories, so I guess it's a decent trade-off.

I've also been studying Japanese for about a year and a half so far. The books I study from call themselves 'intermediate', but I think that's just a word that's printed in them to make me feel better about my progress. It's funny, me bothering to learn a second language at all. I barely communicate with anyone in my first. It's one of the reasons I work in the construction field. I have severe social anxiety, you see, and construction, or at least my job, allows me to not need to speak to anyone for hours at a time, usually my entire shift. Talking to people or being around them puts me on edge. This means learning a second language is silly. When you're practicing with that language you're bound to fail at some point and look at least a little like a fool, which is why it's absurd that someone with multiple social anxiety disorders would bother with it at all.