Book Haven discussion

Suggestions > I need books about American life

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Thế Chiến (new)

Thế Chiến Lê (homeplayer87) | 17 comments Hello, I'm Chien. I'm studying English and want to improve my English through books. I want to get knowledge too. I want to find how life in the US is and how a person grown up, live and learn. Could you please give me a list of books you have read from when you were a child until now please? I really want to learn the life of Americans, I want to speak like an American. Wait for you. Thank you.

message 2: by Andrew (new)

Andrew Yorke (AndrewYorke) | 5 comments To Kill a Mockingbird is a fantastic book that talks about a specific culture in the United States. Also, you can try the novel On the Road. That discusses a more urban atmosphere in the United States during the second half of the twentieth century.

Those are two I would start with. Hope this helps!

All the best,
Andrew

message 3: by Thế Chiến (new)

Thế Chiến Lê (homeplayer87) | 17 comments Thanks.

message 4: by [deleted user] (last edited Mar 13, 2014 05:33AM) (new)

The books mentioned are good, and are specific to particular cultures and time periods. The US is very large and there are differences in regions and subcultures, so it's best to read a range of books and look for common threads.

If you like mysteries, you could read some by Tony Hillerman (set in Navaho country), Laura Lippman (set in very gritty east coast urban areas), or Sue Grafton (urban California crime mysteries). If you're not a mystery fan per se, David James Duncan writes nice books about a range of topics (from Pacific Northwest and over to Idaho and Montana) and Barbara Kingsolver does so more to the southwest. Anne Tyler covers a nice range as well.