Goodreads All Sorts discussion

Member's Corners > Jessa's Slightly Off-Kilter Corner

Comments Showing 1-50 of 58 (58 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Jessa (last edited Mar 15, 2013 09:05AM) (new)

Jessa Callaver (jessa_callaver) | 38 comments Well, I've been writing fiction for about 2 years now and so I mostly read books within my own genre these days, but before that read whatever interested me. Random and pretty widespread topics spanning from Trawler A Journey Through the North Atlantic by Redmond O'Hanlon to
There's a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem by Wayne W. Dyer to
Blackwood Farm (The Vampire Chronicles, #9) by Anne Rice .

Just finished reading I Capture the Castle, a book I'd had on my to-read list for ages, it seemed. Really adored it. Just lush descriptions, nuance, quirky characters, and a female protagonist who, despite her inexperience and young age, refuses to settle for a half-life. Sorry spoiler alert. A wonderful book.

Am currently reading: The Devil's Advocate The older I get the more shocked I am by how far a departure a film 'based on the book' is given license to go. From The Witches of Eastwick to now TDA...it's astounding. And disheartening really. Not that I'm finding Neiderman's writing and storytelling to be an improvement on the film, just...almost entirely different. I mean I fell in love with "The Devil's Advocate" the film right away. Pacino's scathing monologues, the subtlty, the atmosphere, the story. Just to come to find the book a sort of shell and the film loosely based on it. I wonder if Neiderman was okay with that? Had creative control? Even wrote the screenplay?

message 2: by Dalu (new)

Dalu  | 179 comments Hay Jessa, nice Corner! I might now read Icapture the castle for what you wrote sounds like something i might like :)
I think i read The witches of Eatwick, im really sure tho.

message 3: by Jessa (last edited Mar 15, 2013 08:42AM) (new)