The Next Best Book Club discussion

Revive a Dead Thread > Reading reduces stress levels by 68%

Comments Showing 1-50 of 52 (52 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Val (new)

Val (valz) | 367 comments Check out this article. Reading reduces stress levels by 68%:
http://www.marieclaire.co.uk/news/314...

message 2: by Victoria (new)

Victoria I agree it reduces stress. It definitely helps but sometimes I find reading takes too much concentration when stressed and I just can't get into it. Good article though, thanks :)

message 3: by Val (new)

Val (valz) | 367 comments Victoria, I agree. When I am really stressed it is hard to concentrate but when I finally get into a book I just drift away and am totally absorbed. I guess that's stress relief, although it seems hard on my body to just sit and read. I guess the key is moderation--something I'm not very good at.

I was surprised by this article as I thought walking would be best. I wonder if this will be supported by other studies.

message 4: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 10121 comments Mod
oh my god, did you see the way that woman in the photo was holding her book? She should be smacked! Shes ruining the cover and creasing the spine! ACK!

message 5: by Lauren (new)

Lauren (lmorris) | 91 comments Lori, you seem stressed by that...need a book?

message 6: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

ha ha ha ha!

message 7: by Val (new)

Val (valz) | 367 comments hahahahahaha! that's how I'm reading 100 books right now. Just picture them Lori -- 100 books folded back like that! LOL

message 8: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Eeeevillllll......

message 9: by Kandice (new)

Kandice Val wrote: "hahahahahaha! that's how I'm reading 100 books right now. Just picture them Lori -- 100 books folded back like that! LOL"

You are going to give Lori a heart attack and then where would we be without our fearless leader? THINK!!!!! LOL

message 10: by Val (new)

Val (valz) | 367 comments my bad!