THE Group for Authors! discussion

Writer's Circle > Audio Books

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Frederick (new)

Frederick Coxen (FLCoxen) | 161 comments Wondering if anyone out there in author land has any experience with converting their books to an audio book?

message 2: by Frederick (new)

Frederick Coxen (FLCoxen) | 161 comments Hi I'm an unknown author that lurks about on different threads so I know that talking about audio books is not well received by book authors - same on you for bringing it up. It is either that or it is a new concept that no one has investigated yet. I suggest you give it up because its been almost eleven hours since you posted and not one remark.

message 3: by K.A. (new)

K.A. Krisko (kakrisko) Well, I haven't converted a whole book to audio but I did record the first chapter of one and posted it to a website. It took a lot longer than I thought it would and was kind of difficult. I also don't like the sound of my own voice. I think I'd have to hire someone to do it for me, at who-knows-what-cost, so I haven't gone any further down that path, personally.

message 4: by Ronald (new)

Ronald (ASongofAfrica) | 67 comments Check out ACX.

message 5: by Frederick (new)

Frederick Coxen (FLCoxen) | 161 comments I did check out ACX and found it interesting but I wanted to know if other authors have used them and what they thought of the process. They are not explicate on the cost, i guess because there are so many variances, however if a producer thinks that an audio of your book would sell well, then they may offer to do the work for free for 50% of the royalties. There is a lot more to it but I was just wondering if anyone has gone through the process.

message 6: by Emily (new)