Shounen Manga Book Club discussion

Manga > How Did You Get Into Manga?

Comments Showing 1-44 of 44 (44 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

How did you become interested in manga? Was it through anime first? Which series was your first?

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

I was first introduced through InuYasha (as I'm sure so many others are). I saw the anime first when my cousin "recommended" it. Actually, she made me stay up all night just catch an episode on Adult Swim. When I found out about the manga I picked that up. Soon after I began exploring more anime and manga. Considering my interest started when I was in 7th grade and I'm now a sophomore in college, I've been a fan for years, though I stopped watching anime for a while and only read manga.

message 3: by Kristen (new)

Kristen | 224 comments I started getting into manga in high school. I think in maybe 9th grade, I started watching all of the Miyazaki movies. I started watching more anime in general and became interested in reading the manga of the shows that I liked. I started on Dragon Ball and went on from there. It was a slow start for me: I didn't really get into manga until last year when I told myself, "I'm going to read more manga". I read the first volume of every manga series my library had and kept going form there.

message 4: by Selena (new)

Selena (sailorstar165) | 389 comments Mod
Anime I've been into since Sailor Moon first aired in the US. Manga I got into when a friend showed me Tokyo Mew Mew. I ran out and bought them, then got into Fruits Basket, and the rest is history. :D

message 5: by harshini (new)

harshini  (watchmeread) | 45 comments Anime! Been obsessed since I was 3 or 4 years old! I love you Pokemon hehe

message 6: by Jamie (new)