Literary Disco discussion

Books you reread every year?

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amanda (new)

Amanda (staticpen) After listening to the podcast (newbie here!), I thought about the books I've read over the years, and I noticed that some I read every year or try to. Some are obvious like The Great Gatsby or East of Eden but some modern ones as well like Middlesex. As I've gotten older I've noticed I don't do it as much and there's maybe a few that I will reread (usually in audiobook form). Those few are the few that bring back the nostalgia of that first read: Dune and The Stand (and might as well throw in Tolkien).

Are there any books that you go out of your way to read yearly and why? Is there memories tied to that particular book or is it carrying on a tradition that you began because you loved the story so much?

message 2: by M.G. (new)

M.G. Camacho (ambidextrous_crafter) For me, that would be listening to the audiobook of Pride & Prejudice.

message 3: by Eric (new)

Eric | 30 comments Watchmen, Huckleberry Finn, The Sun Also Rises, and The Stand are my go-to comfort re-reads.

message 4: by Marcella (new)

Marcella | 1 comments Spring- Secret Garden. Summer- Treasure Island (Robert Louis Stevenson). Fall- Harry Potter series. Halloween- IT. Christmas- A Christmas Carol.

message 5: by Anastasia (new)

Anastasia (anastasiatab) I revisit The Time Travelers Wife every summer. However, this year I am putting it down to revisit The Great Gatsby, The Catcher in the Rye and maybe even Lord of the Flies

message 6: by Melissa (new)

Melissa | 7 comments All of Jane Austen's novels, Jane Eyre, P.G. Wodehouse are my comfort reads.

message 7: by Eric (new)

Eric | 30 comments Melissa wrote: "All of Jane Austen's novels, Jane Eyre, P.G. Wodehouse are my comfort reads."

Do you have any books by Jane Eyre?

message 8: by Nora (new)