Ratebeer Readers discussion

1 view
Top 100 novels of the 20th Century

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ragallachmc (new)

Ragallachmc | 8 comments The Top 100 Novels of the 20th Century was compiled a few years ago by The Modern Library. How many of them have you read? I have a shameful 15.

message 2: by Muzzlehatch (new)

Muzzlehatch | 168 comments My shame beats yours -- 13, though I own about 2 dozen more and intend to read most of them, honest!

That's the editor's list, a little better on the reader's list -- 22.

message 3: by Ragallachmc (new)

Ragallachmc | 8 comments The Reader's list is pretty bad. How many Ayn Rand and Hubbard books should really be on there? Doing a quick count I have 28 on the Reader's list.

message 4: by Claude S (new)

Claude S | 200 comments I've read 23, and there were about 10 more I was supposed to read in college. I was an expert at taking exams without reading the book.

A few years ago I thought about tackling the entire list. I didn't get very far.

message 5: by Dodd (new)

Dodd | 127 comments 16 for me and the shameful part is that so many of them were so long ago.

The readers' list is a bit of an embarrassment. Ayn Rand even once? Objectivist half baked presumptuousness aside, her writing is so bad that I can't even make myself read it to gather ammunition for counter arguments.

message 6: by Claude S (new)

Claude S | 200 comments anybody tried to tackle Ulysses?

message 7: by Dodd (new)

Dodd | 127 comments Absolutely.
I couldn't do it when I was in college, but when I picked it up a couple of years ago, I couldn't stop (except that I did about half way through). There was a new edition published in the 1980s and a good annotation (Gifford?) that can make clear some of the more obscure references. But the writing is a much more compelling thing for me now that I am older.