Q&A for Printing By Hand discussion

block printing--Speedball water-soluble vs. Jacquard textile color

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Fiona (new)

Fiona | 3 comments Hi Lena,

I am a student in Otis' continuing education textile design program out in LA. I recently read your book, Printing By Hand. It's been a great resource!

I am enjoying experimenting with block printing, but have had a couple issues when it comes to getting the ink to set permanently. I have some questions regarding Speedball water-based block printing inks vs. Jacquard textile colors that I was hoping you could help me with.

With the block printing inks, I have gotten really nice, crisp edges from the printed blocks. I have also gotten good paint coverage and a good-looking finished product for a first-timer. Then I tried to heat set some test samples-- with the iron, baking for 3 min @ 350 in the oven, and another baking 25 min @ 250 in the oven (those last two methods I found on the internet). The 350 it too hot for the 100% linen I was using, as it scorches it. The 250 worked great. I then put the 3 samples in a delicate short wash on cold. All three faded, but not completely. However, I like the original colors. Is it possible to maintain the original ink color of these block printed pieces by another method? Can a dry cleaner or professional silk-screening facility set them? Do pieces still fade extensively after being set that way? Is drastic fading unavoidable with this type of ink? My idea is to make some decorative pillows-- they would not be washed often, but I would like to have that option.