The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band The Dirt discussion


262 views
More Books Like Dirt???

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Mark Desrosiers Here are some of my faves:

Please Kill Me, the Uncensored Oral History of Punk, by Legs McNeill (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14595)

Rock Bottom: Dark Moments in Music Babylon, by Pamela Des Barres (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22...)

Have Gun, Will Travel: The Rise and Violent Fall of Death Row Records, by Ronin Ro (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13...)

I Lived to Tell it All, by George Jones (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/82...)

Dino: Living High in the Dirty Business of Dreams, by Nick Tosches (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41...)

Rotten: No Irish, No Blacks, No Dogs, by John Lydon (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17...)

I'm With the Band: Confessions of a Groupie, by Pamela Des Barres (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50039)

You'll Never Make Love in this Town Again (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37...)

A Drink with Shane MacGowan (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25...)

White Line Fever, by Lemmy Kilmister (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31...)

KISS and Make Up, by Gene Simmons (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52...)


message 2: by Ed (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ed 'The Heroin Diaries' by Nikki Sixx. A must-read if you enjoyed The Dirt.


Ashton "Slash" by Slash and Anthony Bozza.
"Walk This Way" by Aerosmith and Steven Davis.
"Tommyland" by Tommy Lee and Anthony Bozza.
"Rebel Heart" by Bebe Buell


message 4: by Lily (last edited Jun 11, 2009 01:45PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Lily Marilyn Manson's The Long Hard Road, same writer as The Dirt- Neil Strauss.

I 2nd Slash's autobiography, I thought it was even better than The Dirt.

Priscilla Presley's Elvis and Me was surprisingly interesting as well.



Dustin Definitely check out 'White Line Fever'.


Decy Such an awesome book ! I'm all for this discussion.. Might get a copy of Slash's book, it seems to be a winner !


message 7: by Andy (last edited Aug 10, 2011 10:12PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Andy There are some good jazz heroin books, too, like Miles Davis' autobiography and "Straight Life", the bio on Art Pepper and his addiction.

The Three Dog Night autobiographies are pretty sordid as well, "Three Dog Nightmare" by Chuck Negron and "One Is The Loneliest Number" by Jimmy Greenspoon.

I also recommend "Dreamland Avenue", the Danny Sugerman book.


message 8: by Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Books) (last edited Sep 14, 2011 07:01PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Books) I didnt read it yet, but Tattoos & Tequila To Hell and Back with One of Rock's Most Notorious Frontmen by Vince Neil looks like it's going to be good. So does Does the Noise in My Head Bother You? by Steven Tyler .
Also My Appetite for Destruction Sex, and Drugs, and Guns N' Roses by Steven Adler and The Long Hard Road Out of Hell by Marilyn Manson were worth reading.
And even though its not about a rockstar I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max is definitely in the same league as the Dirt and funny as hell!


Melissa Michelle wrote: "I didnt read it yet, but Tattoos & Tequila To Hell and Back with One of Rock's Most Notorious Frontmen by Vince Neil looks like it's going to be good. So does [bookcover:Does the Noise in M..."

I don't want to kill your mood, but before you put any money down on Vince Neil's book, go to the bookstore and read chapter 2. If you can make it through that, you'll probably like the book, but to me it was like they just recorded Vince answering questions and typed out his answers verbatim and without pause.

It was very disappointing, only because The Heroin Diaries and Tommyland were just so entertaining.


Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Books) Melissa wrote: "Michelle wrote: "I didnt read it yet, but Tattoos & Tequila To Hell and Back with One of Rock's Most Notorious Frontmen by Vince Neil looks like it's going to be good. So does [bookcover:Do..."

ok thanks, i usually get the free sample on my Nook before i buy them so i guess i wouldve been able to tell if it was bad. I thought Tommyland was super funny, but kinda short.



Ronnie Check out Hammer of the Gods, by Stephen Davis. It tells of life on the road with Led Zeppelin, throughout their time as the most high profile Rock band in the World.


message 12: by Mira (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mira I enjoyed Ronnie by Ronnie Wood, and Keith Richard's book was pretty epic too!


Melissa Actually Rick Springfield's book Late, Late at Night was really good.


message 14: by Jed (last edited Sep 29, 2014 05:05AM) (new)

Jed NO to VINCE NEILS book!!

I'd say, you're safest bet is:
Slash" by Slash and Anthony Bozza
Scar Tissue ,Anthony Keidis -Bozza(I think).


Nikki's Heroin diaries, are a much, much, much lesser version of the DIRT with some of the stories re-ashed.

And Vince Neil, he Bore-dly talks about himself..and the only anectodes he has were in the dirt..:SO NO!


message 15: by Jed (new)

Jed Even though it's not Funny, a real harcore, yet easy-reading BOOK is
basketball diaries - Jim Carrol


Zafir Ignatov " I Am Ozzy " Ozzy Osbourne - great book , much like " Dirt "


Joann(san diego shutterbug) The Herion Diaries by nikki sixx is pretty good but i would read The Dirt first it kinda is the prequel to the Herion Diaries.


Shawn It doesn't get much better than the Dirt. Like many have suggested so far, I'd go for Slash's autobiography next or Marilyn Manson's. Manson's can be a bit graphic at parts, though.


message 20: by Jed (new)

Jed Ok.
After the Dirt,
SLASH..but only if you really like the album "Appetite for Destruction".
For example, in the DIRT, I reccomended it to people who don't even know who MOTLEY CRUE is, and they loved it.
But SCAR TISSUES: Even if you don't know a lot about them..it's a fun read...I mean his father was a drug dealer at the RAINBOW...and that's the tame part of the book.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9...
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2...


Lenny Nero Try Ministry: The Lost Gospels According to Al Jourgensen, lots of drugs and debauchery in this one. Jourgensen has been a junkie since the late 80's.


message 22: by Katerina (last edited Dec 23, 2014 01:50PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Katerina Paisoglou Dave Mustaine's autobiography is awesome, so is David Ellefson's. I also suggest Duff McKagan's "It's So Easy And Other Lies" great book , excellent read. All Motley books are great ...


message 23: by Jed (new)

Jed Duff McKagan's "It's So Easy And Other Lies" is a GREAT, GREAT, GREAT book.

It's different from Motley, which is the Best and funniest rock bio..
but Duff's book, is sort of like the REAL "SOBER" point of view of what's going on.
It's like having a normal person observing what happened.
What I'm trying to say is, in Duff's book: You beleive him 100%.


Whereas other rock bio, might be funnier, but when you get David Lee ROth or Motley crue saying "We were the greatest rock band in the world" they lose credibility.

For the record, Wen motley came out, they were sort of underground..
Until Dr.Feelgood, which made them a household name for the summer of August 87 or 88...
but that's it..and it made Def leppard too, and even POISON.

They weren't THAT famous.

So, when I read these bio's It always grates me when they spew stuff like "We were the greatest group of the decade"
am thinking, I was there..and you weren't.

Having finished my VENT.

Duff is the most realistic one.
So, read the dirt for fun..and Duff's to see the Neutral intelligent and real point of view


back to top