School Librarians & Teachers discussion

Using Goodreads with students

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ms. Graves (new)

Ms. Graves (msgraves-librarian) | 5 comments I'm a middle school librarian and I am collaborating with a reading teacher to have a private group for his class. Does anyone have any tips/hints for me? The process of getting students signed up was daunting -- several students had no email. We had to go into gmail and create accounts just for students to use. I'd love to hear how others are using this at the middle school level. After 4 classes in the computer lab, all students are on and it so much fun to read about what students recommend.

message 2: by Ms. Vicki (new)

Ms. Vicki Smith | 3 comments I think that is a great idea. I haven't tried it, but I would love to see how it goes for you.

message 3: by Kathy (new)

Kathy (babyfork) | 4 comments Mod
That's funny, I just logged into my Goodreads account to play around since I am thinking of using Goodreads with my seventh grade library class. Since you seem to have gotten started, are there any tips you would give? Also, how are you using it? Are students writing reviews, etc?

message 4: by Ms. Graves (new)

Ms. Graves (msgraves-librarian) | 5 comments So far we are having a blast. The students really like it, especially when they are writing their own stories. They are also learning social skills, because some students don't like what people are doing to their stories, so they are learning cooperation.

message 5: by Emily (new)

Emily (rozmuse) | 2 comments I too am contemplating having my students sign up for goodreads. Did you create a new group for your class?

message 6: by Ms. Graves (new)

Ms. Graves (msgraves-librarian) | 5 comments Yes,

We created a private group for the class. Myself and the english teacher are the moderators. We sent home a letter to parents explaining what we are doing.