The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1) The Fellowship of the Ring discussion

Smeagol/Gollum Question

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Okay, I'm fairly new to the LOTR fandom, and might I say that I love it very much. I'm 14 years old, and I feel I completely understand it. I've currently watched all the films more than once, read Fellowship of the Ring, and read the Hobbit. I have yet to start the Two Towers. But I do have one question, and pardon if it might be stupid, as I haven't read the rest of the series yet.

The One Ring grants unnatural long life to the bearer, correct? The question that has been driving me crazy for the past month is the aging process for Smeagol/Gollum.
Okay, so Bilbo obviously grew older at a visibly faster rate once the ring was given to Frodo, as shown in Fellowship of the Ring and in Return of the King. By Return of the King, you could tell he was practically about to die any second, hence him leaving to the Undying Lands. By then Bilbo had only gone without the Ring for, well, I'm honestly not sure how much time had passed between films, but we'll just say several months just for the heck of it. I'm not sure.
So the main question I have is: If Bilbo only went without the Ring for like seven months and already had shown a HUGE aging difference without the benefits of the Ring, how come Gollum/Smeagol went 60+ years without the Ring, yet appeared practically the same with no noticeable aging differences?