Clean Reads discussion

Assigned Reading

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sari (new)

Sari Mayer Hi! I'm new to this group, and am so glad I found it. I am an English teacher and have recently been hired as the English chair at a religious private school (high school). I am trying to devise a reading list, and am pretty much done but having a hard time thinking of enough titles that are considered "good literature" (like Dickens, Austen, Fitzgerald etc.) that are appropriate for my students (no bad language, or references to drugs, sex, or alcohol. No references to secular music, tv, or movies). If there are only a few instances of bad language, which can be easily censored, that's okay too. I appreciate any and all suggestions but am particularly interested if anyone has suggestions for contemporary (20th-21st century) American literature--novels or plays.

message 2: by April (new)

April | 2 comments "The Hiding Place" is by far one of the best books I've ever read. It takes place in WWII and is a true story about a family who hid Jews.

message 3: by Tracy (new)

Tracy | 6 comments Agree with above by Corrie Ten Boom - Forr American contemporary consider Laura Hillenbrand (seabiscuit/Unbroken) amazing and so much to discuss/write about and possibly Barbara Kingsolver's Poisonwood Bible ?

message 4: by Abigail (last edited Dec 13, 2017 07:30PM) (new)