Bookworms discussion


Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Phyllis Dorothy James, Baroness James of Holland Park, OBE, FRSA, FRSL (born 3 August 1920), commonly known as P. D. James, is an English crime writer and a life peer in the House of Lords. She is most famous for a series of detective novels starring policeman and poet Adam Dalgliesh.

James was born in Oxford, the daughter of Sidney James, a tax inspector, and educated at the British School in Ludlow and Cambridge High School for Girls.

James began writing in the mid-1950s.Her first novel, Cover Her Face, featuring the investigator and poet Adam Dalgliesh of New Scotland Yard, named after a teacher at Cambridge High School, was published in 1962. Many of James's mystery novels take place against the backdrop of the UK's bureaucracies, such as the criminal justice system and the National Health Service, in which James worked for decades starting in the 1940s.

er later novels are often set in a community closed in some way, such as a publishing house or barristers' chambers, a theological college, an island or a private clinic. The Adam Dalgliesh novel, The Private Patient, was published in August 2008 in the U.K. by Faber & Faber (US, (November 2008, Alfred A. Knopf) and Talking About Detective Fiction was published in 2009. Over her writing career James has also written many essays and short stories for periodicals and anthologies, which have yet to be collected. She revealed in 2011 that The Private Patient was the final Dalgliesh novel.

Her novel The Children of Men (1992) was the basis for a feature film of the same title (2006), directed by Alfonso Cuarón and starring Clive Owen, Julianne Moore and Michael Caine.

In 2008, she was inducted into the International Crime Writing Hall of Fame at the inaugural ITV3 Crime Thriller Awards.

1971 Best Novel Award, Mystery Writers of America (runner-up): Shroud for a Nightingale
1971 Crime Writers' Association (CWA) Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction: Shroud for a Nightingale
1973 Best Novel Award, Mystery Writers of America (runner-up): An Unsuitable Job for a Woman
1975 CWA Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction: The Black Tower
1986 CWA Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction: A Taste for Death
1986 Mystery Writers of America Best Novel Award (runner-up): A Taste for Death
1987 CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger (lifetime achievement award)
1992 Deo Gloria Award: The Children of Men
1992 The Best Translated Crime Fiction of the Year in Japan, Kono Mystery ga Sugoi! 1992: Devices and Desires
1999 Grandmaster Award, Mystery Writers of America
2002 WH Smith Literary Award (shortlist): Death in Holy Orders
2005 British Book Awards Crime Thriller of the Year (shortlist): The Murder Room
2007 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award (longlist): The Lighthouse
2010 Nick Clarke Award for interview with Director-General of the BBC Mark Thompson whilst guest editor of the Today programme.

message 2: by Smitha (new)

Smitha I just love her books, I have read most, and plan to reread them in the order of publication, sometime in future

back to top