The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > Greetings fellow bibliophiles!

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Melissa (new)

Melissa (melissamarilyn) I'm new to both the site and the group, and I must say I absolutely love this place. I was previously a member of LibraryThing, but decided it was probably time to find a new home when I found out you have to pay if you want to enter more than 200 books into your library (quite an outrage, I must say).

So a little bit about me, if anyone cares,
I'm 15 years old, female (couldn't guess from the name?) and currently live in Maine, though I'm a Bostonian through and through. My mother was an avid book collector when I was small, so I grew up surrounded (quite literally, we had giant bookshelves full) by children's books which undoubtedly was the cause of my love of reading. I'm incredibly grateful to my mother for that, and plan to do the same if I have children someday.

I'm a big fan of all things fantasy, enjoy a historical fiction (especially ancient history), and guiltily delight in a good chick-lit every once in a while. My bookshelves (both real and virtual) seem painfully bare at the moment, though I have big plans to fatten them up (as you will see from my steadily growing "to-read" shelf). Unfortunately, my town library is a wee bit small, and we are currently snowed in, preventing me from even attempting to get to the nearest bookstore.

I'm extremely excited to start exploring this group, and I'm sure you'll see me around. Sorry for the long post, my fingers got away from me!

message 2: by Allison (new)

Allison (inconceivably) Welcome! I'm a fantasy/Hist. Fic./chick-litty person myself.

Don't worry...you'll grow your TBR pile to an Everest in no time.

message 3: by Hilary (new)

Hilary (renfrew) | 66 comments I'm new, too. I'm a fantasy fan, as well.

message 4: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 10125 comments Mod
Hi Melissa,