Web Serial Fiction discussion

Web Serials > New to This World

Comments (showing 1-15 of 15) (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Max (new)

Max (maxlong) | 2 comments So, I'm fairly new to the world of web serial blogs. I've been writing for quite awhile, and I've been published in a few scientific journals, and I have my own blog, but I've had a fiction idea tickling the back of my mind for some time now. The more I analyzed it, the more I felt that a serial blog was the right medium for it. Therefore, I was extremely happy when I finally found this group. Now, I have a starting off point to find other blog fiction and try to get a feel for what works.

As I work my way through the various threads, I'll definitely be checking out everyone's work. In the mean time, if there's any advice you could give that would be helpful before I start putting finger to keyboard, it would be greatly appreciated. I think that this is a great medium, and I really think that it's one of the purest forms of writing right now. While I haven't necessarily started yet, I'm looking forward to the journey. Any information would be incredibly helpful. Thank you very much.

message 2: by Dan (new)

Dan Bonser | 14 comments I've actually wrote a few articles, not only for my own blog but on EzineArticles and Broowaha about my process of writing, not only in general but serial fiction specifically.

I agree with it being a pure form of writing, mainly because its not really pushed through an editor, or edited so many times its crazy. As its written weekly, it has to stay organic, and evolve as you go, instead of write a bunch, then reedit it all. I enjoy the idea of knowing that once I post it, its more or less set in stone (sure you can go back and edit it on the blog, but people have already read it...). I think it keeps you from second guessing earlier points in the story, and keeps you moving forward.