The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1) The Hunger Games discussion

HG and Ancient Rome

Comments (showing 1-16 of 16) (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Samantha The Hunger Games trilogy and Ancient Roman civilization are extremely close to each other. I am currently studying Ancient Rome in school and I cannot believe how much author S. Collins drew from Rome, in a good way! The Games themselves are like gladiatorial games, many of the characters have Roman names, and some like Seneca even share personality traits with their historical namesakes! Ancient Rome even doled out "tesserae" to its citizens, which was free oil and grain to those in need of food. I urge anyone who loves the HG to read up on Ancient Rome, Anthony Everitt has some great books, or for those who want to get their children/friends/etc into Ancient Rome to read the HG trilogy.

Erin This is really interesting! I think it's cool that you noticed that Rome and the HG shared many similarities; I never would've thought to put the two together. I have to be honest, though, I think I would prefer to live in Rome!

Samantha there are many other similarities I didn't list but ancient Roman life was similar to Panem in that there were people living fabulously at the top, and many at the bottom. A day in the life of a common Roman, who often wasn't a "citizen" was boring and often dangerous. Also, the name Panem, as mentioned in the books, comes from the idea that the people need bread and circuses to be placated, or panem et circenses.

Erin That's really interesting. I know for a fact that J.K. Rowling borrowed a lot of names and other things throughout history. I wonder if Collins was inspired by Rowling...?

Sandra I actually hope that is not the case.
If writers get too inspired by one an other they write books which become very similar ;)

But I love the Old Rome.
And not that I read about the comparison, I am thinking you are quite right Samantha. :)