Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Questions > audiobooks - abridged vs. unabridged

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Greg (new)

Greg | 1 comments I'm a new librarian and I'm wondering if there's an accepted convention for denoting abridged vs. unabridged audiobooks. I've seen it in the title (like [UNABRIDGED]) and I've also seen it noted in the publisher field. It looks like Amazon puts it in the publisher field.

message 2: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 41017 comments Mod
In the publisher field? How odd. I would expect to see it in either the title or binding fields.

Seems to me that it makes the most sense to have it in the binding field, something like "Audiobook [Abridged]". Then again, I don't listen to audiobooks, so feedback from those who do might be helpful.

message 3: by John (new)

John | 73 comments I'm a heavy audiobook user and agree with Rivka that it likely should go in the binding, if not description. I haven't made a distinction yet as my books to date have all been unabridged.

message 4: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

It is presumably only a useful distinction when both an abridged and an unabridged version exist for the same book. But I'm pretty sure I have seen that for some.

message 5: by Paul (new)

Paul (kemitix) | 5 comments Rivka,

As a listener of audio books, I'd ask that an abridged version be clearly indicated. Whether there exists an unabridged version or not. An abridgment is a change to the body of the book (whether audio or printed), and I think should be indicated.

Personally I avoid abridgments like the plague. I want the book the author wrote.

message 6: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

That makes sense.

I don't know -- when audio book records get imported from Amazon (or wherever), do they usually indicate if they are abridged?

message 7: by John (new)