Picture Books discussion

Top three read alouds for ages 6-8

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jackie (new)

Jackie | 10 comments Mod
As a second grade teacher, I love:

Charlotte's Web by E.B. White (Cliched, but so beautifully written)

The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

I tried reading The Watsons Go to Birmingham by Christopher Paul Curtis, but had a hard time with some of the humor for this age group. I think it's more of a 3rd grade read. I'm looking for a good African American read aloud for 2nd grade. I also tried Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor and I realized it had some really sad allusions to violence--which I'm not opposed to, but difficult to explain in a longer read, rather than addressed in shorter read-alouds for 2nd grade, in my opinion.

message 2: by Deana (new)

Deana | 1 comments With longer read alouds in mind: Take a look at Christopher Paul Curtis for a good African American stories for 2nd grade.

There is also a great series by Maiya Williams- although the main characters Rowan and Nina are grieving the loss of their mother- the first one is called "The Golden Hour" the second one is "The Hour of the Cobra."

message 3: by Jackie (new)

Jackie | 10 comments Mod
Minor Librarian

My 2nd graders LOVED Leonardo the Terrible Monster! Thanks for that recommendation. I passed it along to other teachers at my school who are loving it as well.

As far as picture book read-alouds. Our 2nd graders have enjoyed:
*Mrs. Toggle's Zipper (and also her Beautiful Blue Shoe) by Robin Pulver
*My Lucky Day by Keiko Kasza
*Jin Woo by Eve Bunting (I read this because I've been adopted from Korea--I didn't think I'd like such a "precious" story about adoption written by someone who, as far as I know, is not adopted, but it's surprisingly good at raising universal issues of sibling jealousy for all kids)