High School English Teachers discussion

Brit Lit Help

Comments (showing 1-6 of 6) (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michelina (new)

Michelina Matozzi-Sullivan (michelinam) | 1 comments I am in my second year teaching high school English and I have 4 different preps. There is not a set curriculum at my school, so it is all up to me. I am looking for ideas of what novels are taught for British Literature as I am trying to update our novels and keep my students' attention. If you also know of any contemporary British authors that you have taught I would appreciate that as well!

message 2: by Nicole (new)

Nicole | 3 comments Depending upon grade level, I do "Grendel" by Gardner, "Frankenstein" by Shelley, "Dracula" by Stoker. They like the monsters.

I've also worked in more modern: "Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time" by Haddon, "Stolen" by Christopher, "Incarceron" by Catherine Fisher.

I've also added in Irish/Scottish as they are typically covered in Brit Lit. The students really like "Angela's Ashes"

message 3: by Rhi (new)

Rhi | 2 comments Off the top of my head!

For KS3 (ages 11-14):
Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo. (Pretty much anything by Morpurgo is always a hit.)
Cirque Du Freak by Darren Shan.
The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd.
Finding Violet Park by Jenny Valentine.
Woman in Black - Susan Hill.

KS4 (ages 15+)
I echo Frankenstein and Dracula.
Blackout by Sam Mills. BRILLIANT.
Annexed by Sharon Dogar, ties in with Anne Frank for some cross curricular.

message 4: by Marina (new)

Marina (MGersty) | 1 comments I am interested in the same topic, but I am looking for help with British short stories that I can share/will be interesting to my urban population of students. I already have "Lamb to the Slaughter" by Dahl and "The Sniper" by O'Flaherty. Any other suggestions? I have previously taught mostly American Lit.

message 5: by Julie (new)