The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > Okie Newbie

Comments Showing 1-25 of 25 (25 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lori (new)

Lori Walker Hi, I'm Lori. I'm a student from Oklahoma (I don't live in a tepee and the closest I've ever been to a cow, pig, or chicken is when it's on its way to my mouth). I'm majoring in English and I just decided to add a history degree. I love reading (like most people on this site), but I don't get the chance to read as much as I would like on my own. I read plenty of what my professors tell me though. After I graduate I plan on going to law school. I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone and joining in on some good conversation about books.

message 2: by Hayes (new)

Hayes (hayes13) Hi Lori, and welcome to the group. You'll find lots of stuff to read here, don't you worry!!

message 3: by Allison (The Allure of Books) (last edited Feb 09, 2009 01:46PM) (new)

Allison (The Allure of Books) (inconceivably) haha...you sound so much like me. I am from OK...I started out in history/pre law...changed to english pre law...and planned on going to law school.

Now I've decided once I get my degree I'll just get a masters in library science...but ANYWAY...just funny that we have all that in common.

Oh....I guess that means I should ask where you go to school. I started out at Oklahoma Christian in Edmond, and am finishing up at OU.

message 4: by Lori (new)

Lori Walker Allison, Let's just say that I'm not going to OU. The only reason I'm in Stillwater is because I didn't look at many colleges when I should have and I decided not to go to Tulsa because I listened to my then-boyfriend, who ended up going to OU (interestingly). He was 2 years younger than me, which should have made a signal go off saying "don't listen!" but I listened to him. The things we do for love...(and then we find out that maybe it wasn't really love)

message 5: by Fiona (new)