Best Teen Books discussion

7th Grade Reading Teacher needs recommendations!

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Charlotte (new)

Charlotte | 1 comments Hi all! I just joined this group because I am a 7th grade Reading teacher (to all girls) and I am wanting to do a novel in the upcoming semester with each of my classes! I am also an avid reader and enjoy all genres and book for all reading levels! I would love to hear recommendations of books for my students from others that work with teens and from teens themselves! Thanks in advance!

message 2: by Patty (new)

Patty | 5 comments The Goose Girl and Book of a Thousand Days would both be good choices for 7th grade girls. Shannon Hale is the author of both, and both books have resourceful and brave heroines.

message 3: by Patty (new)

Patty | 6 comments I teach 7th, too (boys and girls) and I've had a lot of success with To Kill a Mockingbird, Tom Sawyer, Something Wicked This Way Comes, and The Joy Luck Club. For an all-girls classroom, I'd probably lean toward Joy Luck and Mockingbird since they feature strong female characters.

message 4: by Allison (new)

Allison | 2 comments I second anything by Shannon Hale! My favorite is The Goose Girl, but she won a Newbery Honor for Princess Academy, so you may also wish to consider that title.

I'd also recommend Rules, by Cynthia Lord (a 2007 Newbery Honor book), and The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan. The latter has a male protagonist, but also features a smart, strong female character. I haven't met a middle schooler yet who didn't like that book.

Have fun! :)

message 5: by Jo (new)

Jo | 3 comments To tired from all the Christmas stuff going on to think but one would be Erec Rex. Please feel free to look at my book list under youth, teen for advanced and childrens for those catching up or old favorites... Good luck!

message 6: by Rachael (new)

Rachael (rprensner) The Princess Bride