Indie Book Club discussion

Currently Writing > Myriad Book 2

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

I'm currently writing the sequel to "Myriad," called "Tanner" (Tanner is the name of an important character). I've never written a sequel before, and am finding it very challenging. I've written 14 chapters, and have carefully plotted the rest. I'm thinking there's about 5 chapters to go, and there has to be an epilogue.

Here's the blurb:

Kalin is looking forward to his future with Regina, and finding out where his path lies. Then a new danger disrupts the life of him and his friends. Lisandra is a dark witch, experienced in using the worst kind of magic. After forever damaging the lives of two in the group, she's returned, and has a plan which could lead to the deaths of many in Prentor. The group is determined to stop Lisandra, not only to save the lives of strangers, but to help get Mark's brother, Tanner, out of her clutches. But can Mark and Sasha ever forgive Tanner for what he's done to them?

I've had to chop and change a lot of it as I go. Change how a chapter ends when I realize the next chapter doesn't work at all, change a certain part of the plot when I realize it makes everything too complicated. I think, in the end, it will work, but the first draft is a bit of a mess. The editing process will be very difficult. Much more difficult than it was with "Myriad." It's already longer than Myriad, and it's not finished yet :) Hopefully it all works out.

Mona

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

An interesting note about Myriad, which I hope you don't mind that I mention. I wrote the first draft years ago, when I was about 20. It was the worst thing in the world. I wrote a second draft maybe a year after that when I joined a writer's group, and it was basically a total rewrite. Still very bad. I wrote a lot of other things, then abandoned writing fiction altogether.