The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2) The Golden Lily discussion

what's with the "I'm a car expert" mantra from Sydney?

Comments (showing 1-6 of 6) (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Daniel I am pretty sure it mentions her knowledge of cars in a previous book.
Why is it a joke? It is entirely possible to ruin the tranny by learning how to drive stick. She said C engine because there are different types of 289 engines.

Engine Code C: 289 cubic inch V-8 engine @ 200hp w/9.3:1 compression and two-barrel carburetor
Engine Code A: 289 cubic inch V-8 engine @ 225hp w/10.0:1 compression and a four-barrel carburetor
Engine Code K: 289 cubic inch V-8 engine @ 271hp w/10.5:1 compression and a four-barrel carburetor

She also studies alot and likes to learn things, that's why she knows so much. I'm pretty sure that was mentioned in one of the previous books as well.

Shannon Hiner Not being a car expert myself I was neither disturbed or distracted by her car talk. I find Sydney to be terribly refreshing after a string on many emotionally intelligent but book-stupid heroines. Perhaps if I were a car junkie inconsistencies would annoy me...but then again, car fanatics are stereotypically guys, so we're used to their lingo...Why wouldn't a girl look at it differently or express herself differently? Especially since she doesn't seem to have many friends, particularly male car-fanatic friends. If her knowledge is book and internet based rather than practice and discussion based it makes total sense that she wouldn't use the same jargon as "most" people.

I also agree with the previous poster (Daniel (hello!)) that she studies and/or reads quite a bit. As part of her Alchemist requirements she is very advanced from the normal 18/19 year old. And many of these things are mentioned in either Blood Promise or Bloodlines.