Vegan Cooking & Cookbooks discussion

Let Them Eat Vegan!: 200 Deliciously Satisfying Plant-Powered Recipes for the Whole Family
This topic is about Let Them Eat Vegan!
Vegan Cookbooks > Let Them Eat Vegan! By Dreena Burton

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Monica Award-Winning Frosted B-raw-nies

These brownies are very, very tasty and you only need a small bite so you get about 16 brownie bites. This is an expensive recipe with the various nuts and coconut butter. It's very easy to make the brownies - just throw everything in a food processor and then press the mixture into a pan. The frosting was a little weirder because it calls for coconut butter (not coconut oil). I have never used this before and was not sure what the consistency was supposed to be. I had to scrape the coconut butter from the jar. The recipe says to use a mini-food processor, or, if you don't have one, to use a bowl and mix by hand. I mixed it by hand and was left with little chunks of the coconut butter. She has a photo of these brownies in the cookbook and the frosting looks nice and smooth. Mine looks kind of chunky. I took some photos, which I hope to eventually link up to this. Despite looking weird, they turned out well and very delicious.

message 2: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Vegan (lisavegan) Thanks, Monica, for sharing your cooking experiences in this and other threads. It's very helpful for all our members.

message 4: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Vegan (lisavegan) Thanks, Monica. I LOVE photos.

message 5: by Emily (new)