Doggie Book Club discussion

General Discussion > Dog Whisperer? Yes or NO?

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tabatha (new)

Tabatha (goodreadscomtabi) | 10 comments Please read the discussion between Karen and I and give us your opinion on it.

As for me I was quite interested in his tactics. Somethings I thought I wouldnt be able to see my dog go through emotionally though. I think it's like anything, you have to see what works for you and then some good ol' common sense. I am not a professional anything but I have had dogs and people have always commented on how well behaved they are. Always asking for my opinions.

message 2: by Beth (new)

Beth B | 3 comments Regarding CM tactics, I think you get better, quicker results by positive rewards and less stressful for dog and owner. Rapidly running out of ideas with this one though... does anyone have any tips for a dog (6yr old bearded collie that we've had for 2 yrs) that is 90% well behaved but has a big issue with the car? She is clever enough to work out that the car means good things; walks, trips out, even boring trips to the shops. She pants, whinges and yips, has barking fits at junctions. Apart from getting out and telling her to drive, we've tried everything we can think of. She's in a canvas cage in the car which she likes, can see out etc and she's even worse when not in her "tent").
Any advice most welcome.

message 3: by Tabatha (new)

Tabatha (goodreadscomtabi) | 10 comments I would love an answer to that as well Beth! I never thought of letting her drive though....lol! She is so alert in the car that she knows when we are getting close to her favorite spots (close in her eyes is 5 mile radius I'm sure).
If you find anything out Beth let me know too!

message 4: by Karen (new)

Karen Davison | 11 comments A case in point:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ihXq_...