The Newbery Award and Honor Book Club discussion

Welcome! > Introductions

Comments Showing 1-50 of 117 (117 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by Megan (new)

Megan | 86 comments Welcome to our fabulawesom group! Tell us about yourself, your favorite books, interesting interests, unique unique-ities, and the like!

As for me, I love almost anything that even resembles a book, although I don't read very much contemporary fiction. I'm a college student (sort of), and hoping to someday join the real world as a high school English teacher. I love drawing, hiking, clothes, food, and hanging out with my family (whether that means hours of card games or watching episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation).

My list of favorite books is much too long to list, but here are a few highlights:
Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury
The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit Or There and Back Again by J.R.R. Tolkien
Enchantress from the Stars by Sylvia Engdahl
Hard Times by Charles Dickens
Crime and Punishment by Feodor Dostoyevsky
Foundation by Isaac Asimov
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
and then all the staple children's series like the Little House books, The Chronicles of Narnia and The Prydain Chronicles.

message 2: by Amanda (new)

Amanda (amandahandiamhen) | 4 comments Hallo and well met! I am the notorious Amanda Greene. My interests include medieval history, swords and it's kin, writing, outdoorness, and meditation. I love to read books, mostly (though not limited to) fantasy. I am currently in the middle of the Fellowship of the Ring and am loving every minute of it. Here followeth a summarized version of my list of favorite books.

The Hobbit Or There and Back Again by J.R.R. Tolkien
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Wringer by Jerry Spinelli
Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo by Obert Skye and all the other in the series.
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

message 3: by Bennett (new)