No Easy Day: The Firsthand Account of the Mission That Killed Osama Bin Laden No Easy Day question

Ethical Soundness of Books Like This.
Nicholas Nicholas Sep 04, 2012 08:06PM
I'm interested, do you believe that a book like this is a breach of America's operational security (OPSEC) or freedom of speech?

Allan (last edited Oct 08, 2012 07:19PM ) Oct 08, 2012 06:27PM   1 vote
As a Navy veteran I read this book with great interest and with the same concerns Nicholas. This book doesn't do any harm to the national security of this country. In fact, the author went to great legnths to have the book read by a lawyer specializing in these matters well before it went to publication. I beleive, as I think anyone who read the book would attest, that the author would rather die than bring dishonor to himself, his unit, or this country. Our wonderful gOvernment tried to silence him and probably turned a fair read into a best seller. Congrats to the author, I hope you are awash in royalties and financially set for life.

As a Librarian I read this to be able advise patrons, but I was definitely torn on whether or not to read this one. That being said I am glad that I did read it. Good Book

Working at a book store and having read the book, I would say that all the hype about whether there's a breach actually gave the book more exposure.

I agree with the other comments, the government and news organizations as well as some high profile officials have pretty much come out with most of this info way before the book was out. I don't believe he did anything wrong. The only thing you have to wonder about is the acuracy of the book. Im sure his memory would differ a bit from the guys standing next to him. But from all the reports, it seems fairly close to what has been said before the book came out