What's the Name of That Book??? discussion

Suggest books for me > GHOST STORIES

Comments (showing 1-23 of 23) (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Turtle (new)

Turtle (demigod50) I love ghost stories! But I'm new to them. I'd like some collection recommendations. I've read Road Dahl's collection and absolutely loved it! My favorite story is Harry. I need something that's appropriate, so Teen/YA. Nothing SUPER SUPER scary, but something that gives you chills. Thank you in advance!!! ;)

message 2: by Kate (new)

Kate Farrell | 2316 comments Mod
The Ghost of Opalina by Peggy Bacon is an amusing read from the 1960s. It may be younger than young adult.

A couple of my favourite ghost books are The River at Green Knowe and The Children of Green Knowe by L.M. Boston. Again, they might be at the younger edge of young adult.

Some of Stephen King's books would be appropriate for Teen/YA. Some get pretty gory with sexual overtones, so you have to vet them first. One of them is The Talisman. It's been a long time since I read it, but I think it fits your category.

message 3: by inaword (new)

inaword (ReaderOfThings) | 83 comments Ghostly Tales of Love and Revenge
Haunted Animals: True Ghost Stories
Haunted Teachers: True Ghost Stories

I think these might be aimed more at a younger audience, but they've always entertained me no matter how old I was (and Ghostly Tales can be really creepy at times).

message 4: by Nairabell (new)

Nairabell | 76 comments How about Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1) by Kendare Blake? It's a little gory (not really graphic just moments that make you go ewwwww) at times but definitely a YA.

message 5: by Kathy (new)

Kathy (kftate) | 11 comments How about Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle or The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley? I enjoyed them both.

message 6: by Erika (new)

Erika (Escilas) | 42 comments I'm a real fan of the "The Last Apprentice / Wardstone Chronicles" saga.
Here's the first book of the series: