Middle East/North African Lit discussion

2012 Feedback and 2013 Plan

Comments (showing 1-38 of 38) (38 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Marieke, Former moderator (new)

Marieke | 1179 comments Mod
Hi everyone!

Nile Daughter, NG and I would love to hear your thoughts about this past year--what you liked, what you didn't like, what you'd like to see more of, how you felt about the reading period for each stop and how you felt about having two simultaneous projects. Or anything you would like to give us feedback on!

Also, we would like to know if you have thoughts and ideas about next year! It seems early to start talking about next year, but believe me, it's not. ;)

We are anxious to begin planning so we can have another successful reading year in the MENA region.

message 2: by Kate (new)

Kate | 197 comments Hi Marieke,
This is my first year participating and it's been wonderful. Not that I could keep up with everything, and I think I need to know how to be more organized with it. I think I signed up for too many books but I wanted to read them all. I like the mix of fiction and nonfiction 'though I like reading the fiction more. When I read either, I learn more about the histories and cultures of this area.

I have no ideas for next year. You are the experts and I'm on the learning side. I'll just try to keep up.

message 3: by Marieke, Former moderator (new)

Kate wrote: "Hi Marieke,
This is my first year participating and it's been wonderful. Not that I could keep up with everything, and I think I need to know how to be more organized with it. I think I signed up f..."

Thanks so much Kate!

Do you think it's good to have "too many" books or do you think it would be beneficial to have fewer books in the line-up next year?

The three of us are trying to get a sense of what members are thinking so we can tailor the group to meet members' hopes and expectations.