The Hero with a Thousand Faces The Hero with a Thousand Faces discussion

mythology

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Lisa I'm not sure when this thread was started (I'm new to goodreads), but I think Joseph Campbell is brilliant. It's been a while since I read this, but the concept of the underlying thread of the Hero's Journey which weaves through the stories, including the myths of people stretching as far as the eye (or mind!) can see backwards and sideways - going back thousands of years when stories were first known to be written down (the Tale of Gilgemesh) across contemporary cultures, even through Harry Potter, to me is fascinating and incredibly compelling. I think when we pick up and identify these threads, it's like a wise map which we can use to help live our lives and solve our problems. Which I think is Campbell's point! The universality of this can so help you get perspective on your life - and paradoxically these journeys (as we identify with them) can be incredibly personal at the same time. All to say,love it!

message 2: by Michele (last edited Jan 07, 2012 03:15PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Michele Kallio Couldn't agree more. Campbell was a genius, one of the greatest storytellers of all time. And it was his advice to "follow your bliss" that helped me stay the course in writing and publishing my book. I will be forever grateful for him.

message 3: by Lisa (last edited Jan 07, 2012 01:25PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars