CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian's Reviews > Ayesha at Last

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10463035
's review

it was amazing

I LOVED this book! It had me laughing out loud throughout, very much living up to its rom com status. This is a Pride and Prejudice retelling about South Asian Muslims in Toronto, but doesn't follow the original too closely. Interestingly, it's the Darcy equivalent Khalid who is more the main character as he's the one with the most growing to do. He starts off as judgemental, conventional, unable to not do what his mom tells him to. Ayesha calls him a "fundy." His journey is very real, sweet, moving. His and Ayesha's love story was cute, authentic, and sexy despite the fact that they never even kiss? I loved all the side characters, especially Ayesha's Nana and Nani. Even bratty Hafsa (aka Lydia) had a place in my heart by the end (brilliant twist on her by Jalaluddin by the way). This is one of those books where I miss the characters after I finished reading, like they were real people.
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ayesha at Last.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 21, 2018 – Shelved (Other Paperback Edition)
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read (Other Paperback Edition)
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: canadian (Other Paperback Edition)
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: fiction (Other Paperback Edition)
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: muslim (Other Paperback Edition)
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: romance (Other Paperback Edition)
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: reading-in-colour (Other Paperback Edition)
July 5, 2018 – Shelved as: toronto (Other Paperback Edition)
July 5, 2018 – Shelved as: especially-excited (Other Paperback Edition)
July 5, 2018 – Shelved as: south-asian (Other Paperback Edition)
July 7, 2018 – Shelved as: contemporary (Other Paperback Edition)
October 28, 2018 – Shelved as: chick-lit (Other Paperback Edition)
February 6, 2020 – Started Reading
February 6, 2020 – Shelved
February 8, 2020 –
page 52
14.13% "I am so looking forward to when this woman parading around her Islamophobia as (white) feminism gets what's coming to her!"
February 8, 2020 –
page 102
27.72% "This is so funny! I can't wait to see more of stuck up shy Khalid become friends with the boisterous women who own the plus size lingerie company."
February 8, 2020 –
page 133
36.14% ""Khalid's mother will find him a wife." Ayesha said to Nani.
"Then she should hurry up, before he finds a wife for himself," Nani answered.
Hehe the grandparents are always the best in books like this. So cheeky."
February 9, 2020 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Esther (new) - added it

Esther i want to read this too and your review made me more excited for it! i just finished Unmarriageable by Soniah Kamal, how do the two compare for you?


CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian I really liked Unmarriageable too! It follows the original plot and characters of Pride and Prejudice a LOT more than Ayesha at Last does. Also it focuses a lot on Khalid (aka Darcy) whereas Unmarriageable is more like the original, focusing on Alys / Elizabeth. I think if you liked Unmarriageable you will definitely like this!


back to top