Tucker's Reviews > The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
70951605
What a weird little book.

Something I'll do, almost immediately after finishing a book, is Google the heck out of the genre it belongs to. For example, after finishing Furiously Happy, I wanted to find a book that would make me laugh as much as it did. When in doubt, turn to Google. I have googled "most funny books" , "funny fiction books" and " comedy books". Each time, this was one of the top results. And since, I got Audible for Christmas, I thought I would give it a try. (But also because Google is shoving it down my throat.)

I'm still not totally sure how I feel about it. I keet waffling. One chapter, I'd be laughing and thinking I would definitely rate it 5 Stats but the next, I would be bored and wanted to rate it 3. (I decided on 3.5 stars).

This book is described as sci-fi AND comedy. A very very weird combo. I like both of those genres separately but together they were just weird. I love chocolate and I love grilled cheese but would I put them together? Heck, no. (Well, I might but I've been known to have weird food combos. Cheese and chocolate. Eggs and syrup. Apple's and chips.)

Aside from the genres, the plot was very creative. They story open a with the end. The end of earth. Two aliens and two aliens the travel the Universe and hilarity ensues. That's all fine and good but then the book just ended. I can only describe at as like when your walking and reading and you run into a wall and your nose gets all scraped up. (Not that that's happened to me or anything 😶)

All in all, I have very mixed feelings. I loved the idea and the humor. I also loved the sci-fi aspect but when all of that was combined it was not all that great

| Goodreads | Blog | Twitch | Pinterest | Reddit | Buy |

Bottom Line:
3.5 Stars: Weird, but funny
Age Recommendation: 11+ (Slight cursing, violence)
For fans of: 5th Wave, Furiously Happy
Cover: 5/10
Plot: 6/10
Character: 8/10

*******
Update: it did but what the heck was that ending?!? RTC
*******
this has better live up to the hype
103 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 7, 2019 – Started Reading
January 7, 2019 – Shelved
January 7, 2019 –
20.0% "Okay, I'm loving this and now I'm sad tha t it is so short 😰"
January 9, 2019 –
80.0%
January 9, 2019 – Finished Reading
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: 2019
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: adventure
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: adult
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: aliens
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: audiobook
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: classic
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: contemporary
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: disappointing
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: everyone-else-read-before-me
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: friendship
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: future
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: good-vs-evil
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: made-me-laugh
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: quick-read
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: science-fiction
January 31, 2019 – Shelved as: want-to-own
July 21, 2019 – Shelved as: reviewed

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Terris This is one of my favorites!!!


message 2: by Scarlet Cameo (last edited Jan 10, 2019 07:57AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Scarlet Cameo LOL! The ending Is kind of a bummer, but the second Book is Also really funny


Tucker Terris wrote: "This is one of my favorites!!!"

😊😀 I enjoyed it


Tucker Scarlet Cameo wrote: "LOL! The ending Is kind of a bummer, but the second Bookshelf la Aldo really funny"

I plan on reading it ASAP!


message 5: by Corinna (new)

Corinna You might try Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits. Laugh out loud funny in parts.


Tucker Corinna wrote: "You might try Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits. Laugh out loud funny in parts."

Thanks! I'll check them out!


Kelsey Have you read Jenny Lawson's Let's Pretend this Never Happened? It was her first book that came before Furiously Happy, and it's equally as funny!


Tucker Kelsey wrote: "Have you read Jenny Lawson's Let's Pretend this Never Happened? It was her first book that came before Furiously Happy, and it's equally as funny!"

I have! I actually didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would.


Scarlet Cameo Tucker wrote: "Scarlet Cameo wrote: "LOL! The ending Is kind of a bummer, but the second Bookshelf la Aldo really funny"

I plan on reading it ASAP!"


LMAO! I just realized how many typos my comment had.




Tucker Scarlet Cameo wrote: "Tucker wrote: "Scarlet Cameo wrote: "LOL! The ending Is kind of a bummer, but the second Bookshelf la Aldo really funny"

I plan on reading it ASAP!"

LMAO! I just realized how many typos my commen..."


It's okay! I have typos ALL THE TIME 😂😂


Kelsey Tucker wrote: "Kelsey wrote: "Have you read Jenny Lawson's Let's Pretend this Never Happened? It was her first book that came before Furiously Happy, and it's equally as funny!"

I have! I actually didn't enjoy i..."


Oh no! Humor is such an individual thing. It's hard to predict what different people will find funny.


back to top