Katie B's Reviews > The Girl He Used to Know

The Girl He Used to Know by Tracey Garvis Graves
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
49444196
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: arc, st-martins-press, fiction, illinois, romance, 1990s, read-in-2018, favorites

It is such a wonderful feeling when you read a book and you fall in love with the characters. Sure, many books have enjoyable characters but it's not often you get to meet someone special. I absolutely adored Annika. She shares some similarities with another character in a book I read recently, but while that book was an okay read, this one truly captured my heart.

Back in the early 1990s, Annika and Johnathan were seniors at the University of Illinois. Annika gets anxious in social situations which is probably why she enjoys the game of chess because it doesn't involve much talking. After playing a few games against Annika as members of the university chess club, Johnathan finds her intriguing and admires how she remains true to herself even if she comes across as different. While the two form a connection, something happens that tears them apart. Ten years later, they run into one another in Chicago and slowly start to get to know each other again. But with so many things left unresolved from the past, is it even possible to move on and give love another shot?

Hopefully, my synopsis doesn't read too much like a typical second chance romance because in my opinion this book was so much more than that. There's a pretty big theme going on in the story that I'm sure most people will pick up on early but the author doesn't fully address until pretty far into the book. Despite the fact there are many differences, I found myself relating to some of the aspects of Annika's personality. And yet it was also really easy to relate to Johnathan and how he tried to adapt so he could bring out the best in Annika. I just really enjoyed seeing the two of them interact, back as students and also meeting back up again ten years later.

This was such an incredible read for me. So many touching moments and passages I would read and then have to pause for a bit because I was so moved. Maybe this won't be a perfect read for everyone but I do think it is absolutely worth it to give it a shot. One of my favorite reads this year!

Thank you to St. Martin's Press for the opportunity to read an advance copy! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.
172 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Girl He Used to Know.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 23, 2018 – Shelved
July 23, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
October 19, 2018 – Started Reading
October 19, 2018 – Shelved as: arc
October 19, 2018 – Shelved as: st-martins-press
October 19, 2018 – Shelved as: fiction
October 19, 2018 – Shelved as: illinois
October 19, 2018 – Shelved as: romance
October 20, 2018 – Shelved as: 1990s
October 20, 2018 – Shelved as: read-in-2018
October 20, 2018 – Finished Reading
October 21, 2018 – Shelved as: favorites

Comments (showing 1-31)




dateUp arrow    newest »

*TUDOR^QUEEN* This does look very good! 😉


Katie B I hope you get a chance to read it someday!


*TUDOR^QUEEN* Katie wrote: "I hope you get a chance to read it someday!"

Thanks...I requested it from NetGalley after reading your great review 😉💓


Lindsay - Traveling Sister Terrific review!!! Your first line is so true! So glad you loved the characters - best feeling ever! 💜💕


message 27: by NZLisaM (new) - added it

NZLisaM Super review, Katie. 😊


message 26: by Andrea (new)

Andrea Nice review, Katie. I adored On The Island!! Is the author suggesting Annika is autistic, is that the theme you were referring to?


Brandice Great review, Katie! I just received an ARC and am dying to read this soon! Glad you loved it! :)


Brenda - Traveling Sister Wonderful review, Katie!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Fab review Katie. I keep seeing such rave reviews about this one! I love when a character is so able to capture you as a reader. I need to check this one out.


message 22: by Felicia (new)

Felicia Terrific review, Katie 💖


Katie B Andrea wrote: "Nice review, Katie. I adored On The Island!! Is the author suggesting Annika is autistic, is that the theme you were referring to?"

Thanks Andrea! (view spoiler)


Katie B Brandice wrote: "Great review, Katie! I just received an ARC and am dying to read this soon! Glad you loved it! :)"

NZLisaM wrote: "Super review, Katie. 😊"

Lindsay - Traveling Sister wrote: "Terrific review!!! Your first line is so true! So glad you loved the characters - best feeling ever! 💜💕"

Thank you Brandice, NZLisaM, and Lindsay!


Katie B Felicia wrote: "Terrific review, Katie 💖"

(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas wrote: "Fab review Katie. I keep seeing such rave reviews about this one! I love when a character is so able to capture you as a reader. I need to check this one out."

Brenda - Traveling Sister wrote: "Wonderful review, Katie!"

Thank you Felicia, Bern, and Brenda!


Cheri Wonderful review, Katie, I've seen a few reviews for this one, sounds like a really good one!


Katie B Thanks Cheri! I hope you get a chance to read it!


Deanna Awesome review!!!


Katie B Deanna wrote: "Awesome review!!!"

Thank you Deanna! I'm excited for more people to read this one as it was very special to me!


Nadia Great review Katie! I looooved this one.


Katie B Nadia wrote: "Great review Katie! I looooved this one."

Thanks Nadia! So awesome to see you thought it was as amazing as I did!


message 12: by Erika (new) - added it

Erika What is the other similar character you mentioned?


Jayme Fabulous review!


Katie B Erika wrote: "What is the other similar character you mentioned?"

(view spoiler)


Katie B Jayme wrote: "Fabulous review!"

Thank you Jayme!


message 8: by Nicola (new)

Nicola Excellent review Katie! :)


Katie B Nicola wrote: "Excellent review Katie! :)"

Thanks Nicola!


message 6: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel What an excellent review!


Katie B Rachel wrote: "What an excellent review!"

Thank you so much Rachel!


message 4: by Sheri (new)

Sheri Excellent review!!


Katie B Sheri wrote: "Excellent review!!"

Thank you Sheri!


✰  BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰ How wonderful is this book? I fell in love with this one so much.


Katie B ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰ wrote: "How wonderful is this book? I fell in love with this one so much."

One of my favorites! Glad to see you loved it too!


back to top