(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas's Reviews > Good Luck with That

Good Luck with That by Kristan Higgins
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3087404
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: netgalley, adult-reads, 2018

4.5 Stars for this sensitive, compassionate and emotional read on body image, eating disorders, self-worth and ultimately self-love and acceptance.

"Life was kind and full of chances. Sometimes we didn't take them. Sometimes we hid our truth and acted out of fear. Sometimes we turned away and closed the door."

For me, Kristan Higgin's Good Luck with That was an emotional read. Georgia, Marley & Emerson met at Camp Cooperbrook in their teens. This wasn't your typical summer camp - it was a weight loss camp. These three friends struggled with their weight throughout their lives and all the physical and emotional issues that go with that.

Higgins did not shy away from difficult topics here. She tackled body image, eating disorders, obesity and was honest and frank about the mental and physical health issues that play a role in them. Each of these women battled her own "demons" so to speak as they struggled with their weight. It was difficult not to identify with them in some way. I don't know anyone who hasn't looked in the mirror at some point and was plagued by insecurities, self-doubt and a litany of self-criticism.

The bulk of the book involves Marley and Georgia in the wake of Emerson's death due to obesity related health issues. Through Emerson's journal entries we get a peek at how she ended up morbidly obese and it was heart wrenching. It was too late for Emerson to make changes in her life, but she didn't want the same ending for her two best friends. So on her deathbed, Emerson gives Marley and Georgia a letter to be read after her funeral. Enclosed is a "Things We'll Do When We're Skinny" list they made during their final summer at Camp Cooperbrook. Emerson's dying wish is that her friends promise to complete this list. Why? They didn't see the point but because they had made a promise, they agree to try to see it through.

The list ends up being a life changing experience for Marley and Georgia. As they cross off items, they face fears, make peace with their pasts, learn to trust and love themselves and ultimately find that ever elusive feeling of self-acceptance.

"Good luck, I imagined the universe saying kindly, infusing the phrase with gentleness and faith. Good luck with everything."

For a book that was definitely emotionally heavy in what it covered, it left me feeling both positive and hopeful. Thank you Kristin Higgins for writing and sharing this compelling and emotional read.

A special thanks to Kristin Higgins, Berkley Publishing Group and NetGalley for sending me an advance copy for my honest review.
143 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Good Luck with That.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 2, 2018 – Shelved
July 2, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
July 30, 2018 – Shelved as: netgalley
August 1, 2018 – Started Reading
August 2, 2018 –
16.0% "I am already smitten with many of the characters."
August 3, 2018 –
25.0%
August 4, 2018 –
45.0% "I can't help it - I'm smitten with Rafe!"
August 5, 2018 –
85.0% "Finishing this one up this morning!"
August 5, 2018 – Shelved as: adult-reads
August 5, 2018 – Finished Reading
December 29, 2018 – Shelved as: 2018

Comments (showing 1-36)




dateUp arrow    newest »

message 36: by Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister (last edited Aug 01, 2018 07:50PM) (new) - added it

Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister Enjoy it, Bern! This sounds like one heck of an emotional one <3


message 35: by sue (new)

sue I love emotional reads


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister wrote: "Enjoy it, Bern! This sounds like one heck of an emotional one <3"

It is! I definitely need my to have my tissues handy KC!

sue wrote: "I love emotional reads"

Me too Sue & this one looks like it will do me in! Of course I mean that in a good way :)


message 33: by KAS (new)

KAS Such a fantastic review, Bern! You love formthis book shines forth ;) xoxo


message 32: by Diane S ☔ (new) - added it

Diane S ☔ Awesome review, Bern.


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Diane S ☔ wrote: "Awesome review, Bern."
Thank you Diane!

KAS wrote: "Such a fantastic review, Bern! You love formthis book shines forth ;) xoxo"
Thank you KAS - this was an emotional one for sure and it made me think!


message 30: by Jess☺️ (new)

Jess☺️ Brilliant review Bern again!🙂


message 29: by Kaceey (new)

Kaceey Fantastic review Bern!


message 28: by Paula (new)

Paula Kalin Terrific review, Bern!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Paula wrote: "Terrific review, Bern!"
Thank you Paula!

Kaceey - Traveling Sister wrote: "Fantastic review Bern!"
Many thanks Kaceey! This was a great read. :)

Jess wrote: "Brilliant review Bern again!🙂"
Aww, thank you kindly Jess. I thoroughly enjoyed it so hope I did it justice :)


Meredith Glad you enjoyed this too, Bern! Wonderful review!


Deanna Fantastic review!!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Deanna wrote: "Fantastic review!!"
Thank you Deanna. It was such a good read.

Meredith wrote: "Glad you enjoyed this too, Bern! Wonderful review!"
Meredith it was such a powerful book for me! Loved this one.


message 23: by Courtney~ (new) - added it

Courtney~ Great review. I am adding this to my TBR shelf.


Jen/The Tolkien Gal/ジェニファー Gorgeous review!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Courtney wrote: "Great review. I am adding this to my TBR shelf."

Thank you Courtney - I hope you get to read it and enjoy it as much as I did.


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Jennifer (Jen/The Tolkien Gal) wrote: "Gorgeous review!"

Thank you kindly Jen! This was such a thought provoking read for me.


Lindsay - Traveling Sister Fabulous review Bern!!! 💜


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Lindsay - Traveling Sister wrote: "Fabulous review Bern!!! 💜"

Thank you Lindsay! I really enjoyed this one & recommend it.


message 17: by Angela M (new)

Angela M Great review, Bern!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Angela M wrote: "Great review, Bern!"

Thank you Angela - Higgins definitely has a good one here!


message 15: by Jayme (new)

Jayme Wonderful review Bern!


message 14: by Cyndi (new) - added it

Cyndi Kristan is coming to our library tomorrow night. So excited!


JanB Bern, I need to read this ARC soon, glad you enjoyed!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas JanB wrote: "Bern, I need to read this ARC soon, glad you enjoyed!"
I hope you find time for it soon Jan & that you enjoy it as much as I did (if not more!).

Jayme wrote: "Wonderful review Bern!"
Thank you Jayme!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Cyndi wrote: "Kristan is coming to our library tomorrow night. So excited!"

How exciting Cyndi!!!! I'd love to see her in person. Hope you enjoy it :)


Brenda - Traveling Sister Great review, Bern! Glad to see you enjoyed this one!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Brenda - Traveling Sister wrote: "Great review, Bern! Glad to see you enjoyed this one!"

Thanks Brenda! Loved this one for sure!


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader Wonderful review, Bern! I can tell this one made you feel strongly, and I love that! ♥️ I need to make time for it soon!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader wrote: "Wonderful review, Bern! I can tell this one made you feel strongly, and I love that! ♥️ I need to make time for it soon!"

It did Jennifer! I definitely recommend it. Hope you find time to read it soon.


message 6: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Nice review!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Lisa wrote: "Nice review!"
Thank you Lisa!


Susanne  Strong Great review Bern!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Susanne wrote: "Great review Bern!"
Thanks Susanne! Happy to know you really enjoyed this one as well. It was such a good read!


Danielle I read this because of your review and I LOVED it! Thank you!


(Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas Danielle wrote: "I read this because of your review and I LOVED it! Thank you!"
Yay! I'm so glad you loved it Danielle! :)


back to top