destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]'s Reviews > A Conjuring of Light

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
15335689
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: adult, favorites, owned-physical, otp, fantasy

#1 A Darker Shade of Magic ★★★★★
#2 A Gathering of Shadows ★★★★★
#3 A Conjuring of Light ★★★★★

I’ve been putting off writing this review for a month, which is about the same length of time I put off finishing the book itself, because I simply have not been prepared to say goodbye to this trilogy. Reading these three books has been one of the most emotional, anxiety-inducing, and genuinely magical experiences of my entire life. I have so much to say, with no idea how to express any of it.

“Love and loss,” he said, “are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be.”

I can safely say that I have never loved every character in a series the way I do with this one. I mourned every loss, laughed and cried tears of joy over each close call, every triumph, every kiss and reunion. The thing about this trilogy is that there are certain evils which must be faced and conquered, but what really stays with you is the build-up of these characters and their relationships with one another. I can’t even choose a favorite, because I love them all so much, in such different ways.

“Scars are not shameful, not unless you let them be. If you do not wear them, they will wear you.”

In typical Schwab fashion, though, the action scenes are downright glorious. I love that, no matter how many moving pieces are in a battle, I never struggle to keep up with exactly what is happening, because her writing is so immersive that it transports you right into the center of the fight. You never know quite what twist or slight of hand to expect next.

“What are we drinking to?”
“The living,” said Rhy.
“The dead,” said Alucard and Lila at the same time.
“We’re being thorough,” added Rhy.

Of course, it’s not all war and heartache; there are always these gorgeous moments woven in of bonding, of bickering and playful banter. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so much in so many moments of sheer and utter anxiety, but that’s this series in a nutshell—especially the second and third installments. I actually joked recently that I’m so happy there is going to be a spin-off series, but at the same time, I need ample room to recover before putting my heart through the misery of another book with these characters scaring me half to death and breaking my heart every other chapter.

“Death comes for us all. I would simply have mine mean something.”

I don’t know what else to say at this point. I wanted this review to be eloquent and thorough, but when I think back on this story, I am immediately pulled into such reminiscence for the feelings it drew out of me that I have a hard time viewing it subjectively and squaring it off into little, easy to describe compartments.

Anoshe was a word for strangers in the street, and lovers between meetings, for parents and children, friends and family. It softened the blow of leaving. Eased the strain of parting. A careful nod to the certainty of today, the mystery of tomorrow. When a friend left, with little chance of seeing home, they said anoshe. When a loved one was dying, they said anoshe. When corpses were burned, bodies given back to the earth and souls to the stream, those left grieving said anoshe.

Anoshe brought solace. And hope. And the strength to let go.”

A month after completing it, I feel comfortable in now saying that this is the single greatest series I have ever read in my life, and Victoria Schwab has solidified a permanent place in my heart. I will buy anything and everything she writes in the future, and I will doubtlessly reread this trilogy over and over again. The writing is so flawless, and frankly, you could just tattoo this whole damn trilogy onto my body if there was enough room, and I’d be just fine with that, thank you.

You can find this review and more on my blog, or you can follow me on twitter, bookstagram, or facebook!

---

Buddy read with Terry and Julie! ♥♥♥
202 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Conjuring of Light.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 12, 2017 – Shelved
September 12, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
April 19, 2018 – Shelved as: adult
May 8, 2018 – Started Reading
May 8, 2018 –
page 78
12.5%
May 10, 2018 –
page 139
22.28%
May 13, 2018 –
page 195
31.25%
June 13, 2018 –
page 258
41.35%
June 14, 2018 –
page 323
51.76%
June 15, 2018 –
page 375
60.1% "I JUST LOVE THEM ALL SO MUCH IT HURTS"
June 16, 2018 –
page 438
70.19%
June 17, 2018 –
page 504
80.77%
June 21, 2018 – Shelved as: favorites
June 21, 2018 – Finished Reading
July 8, 2018 – Shelved as: owned-physical
September 9, 2018 – Shelved as: otp
November 11, 2018 – Shelved as: fantasy

Comments (showing 1-20)




dateUp arrow    newest »

Sol ~ TheBookishKing ohhhh I hope you love this Destiny! 😍💙 Happy reading (whenever you get to it 😝)


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Solomon S. wrote: "ohhhh I hope you love this Destiny! 😍💙 Happy reading (whenever you get to it 😝)"

Thank youuuu! ♥ I'm starting it in May and I can't wait (but I'm also super nervous hehe)


Jennifer Honestly it's the best series ever. 11/10. All the stars. Now I want to reread it.


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Jennifer wrote: "Honestly it's the best series ever. 11/10. All the stars. Now I want to reread it."

It really is amazing. Like, easily in my top 2 favorite series in life, probably #1 lmao


Jennifer destiny wrote: "Jennifer wrote: "Honestly it's the best series ever. 11/10. All the stars. Now I want to reread it."

It really is amazing. Like, easily in my top 2 favorite series in life, probably #1 lmao"


SAME. I finished this book and then immediately went out and got a tribute tattoo. Like, I needed this book permanently inked on my body because it had such a profound impact on my life.


Nasom I am glad you enjoyed this series destiny. It’s also one of my faves ☺️❤️


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Jennifer wrote: "destiny wrote: "Jennifer wrote: "Honestly it's the best series ever. 11/10. All the stars. Now I want to reread it."

It really is amazing. Like, easily in my top 2 favorite series in life, probabl..."


It's funny that you say that, because immediately after finishing ACOL earlier, I thought to myself that this was one of the few series I'd be getting a tattoo for in the future haha.


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Nasom wrote: "I am glad you enjoyed this series destiny. It’s also one of my faves ☺️❤️"

Thank you! <3 I'm glad you love it, too!


Anika This one was hands down my favorite of the series ❤️🖤❤️🖤


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Anika wrote: "This one was hands down my favorite of the series ❤️🖤❤️🖤"

Same! It's honestly just so incredible. I 5-starred all of them, but this one was FLAWLESS.


Jennifer destiny wrote: "Jennifer wrote: "destiny wrote: "Jennifer wrote: "Honestly it's the best series ever. 11/10. All the stars. Now I want to reread it."

It really is amazing. Like, easily in my top 2 favorite series..."


OMG yes do it!!! I love mine! I have a bunch of bookish tattoos but my ADSOM one is one of my faves. =)


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Jennifer wrote: "destiny wrote: "Jennifer wrote: "destiny wrote: "Jennifer wrote: "Honestly it's the best series ever. 11/10. All the stars. Now I want to reread it."

It really is amazing. Like, easily in my top 2..."


I haven't gotten any bookish tattoos yet except my deathly hallows symbol, but I really want more! :D


Lea (drumsofautumn) I am just so incredibly happy you loved this series! Can’t wait to read more of your thoughts!


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Lea (drumsofautumn) wrote: "I am just so incredibly happy you loved this series! Can’t wait to read more of your thoughts!"

It was so amazing! I feel like I should go ahead and write my review but at the same time, like, how do I even process?! Lol


Jessica Yay! ACOL is one of my favorite fantasy conclusions ever! So glad you enjoyed it!


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Jessica wrote: "Yay! ACOL is one of my favorite fantasy conclusions ever! So glad you enjoyed it!"

It was amazing! ♥


Emily I finally finished reading this series and I can safely say it is one of my top favorites ever. I've been a fan of Victoria Schwab since her first book, and I am mad at myself for waiting this long to read these books! So, so perfect. I definitely have a book hangover. I am even thinking of getting a tattoo for this series...


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Emily wrote: "I finally finished reading this series and I can safely say it is one of my top favorites ever. I've been a fan of Victoria Schwab since her first book, and I am mad at myself for waiting this long..."

Yes to all of this! :) I'm planning out a tattoo for the series currently, I just haven't decided exactly what I want.


Emily destiny wrote: "Emily wrote: "I finally finished reading this series and I can safely say it is one of my top favorites ever. I've been a fan of Victoria Schwab since her first book, and I am mad at myself for wai..."

I am considering getting "As Travars" in her handwriting on my foot, since I am a big traveler. But there are so many possibilities... haha!


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Emily wrote: "destiny wrote: "Emily wrote: "I finally finished reading this series and I can safely say it is one of my top favorites ever. I've been a fan of Victoria Schwab since her first book, and I am mad a..."

That sounds super cool!


back to top