Elgon Williams's Reviews > The Kingdom Thief

The Kingdom Thief by Alisse Lee Goldenberg
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10380669
's review

it was amazing

The Kingdom Thief, the next installment of the Sitnalta Series

The Kingdom Thief by Alisse Lee Goldenberg delivers a compelling story as the princess’ quest for love is hijacked when the usurper Wilhelm, a common criminal, becomes king.

This is the second book in the award-winning Sitnalta series. Although the story is written with Middle Grade to Young Adult readers in mind, it is sure to entertain readers of all ages. This instant classic is a fairytale fantasy chocked full of intrigue and magic. There are princes and princesses, kings and queens with one quirky wizard tossed in for good measure.

The story picks up a short time after the concluding events of Sitnalta, the debut novel of this series. With her father, the former tyrannical King Supmylo, imprisoned in the castle dungeons and King Gerald and Queen Aud (our heroine’s former governess) rule both Colonodona and Sarrin, King Gerald’s realm. The peace and happiness in the unified kingdom are soon shattered when a thief steals the powerful, magical coin from its vault deep beneath the castle and wishes himself king.

Continuing in the tradition of Sitnalta, Goldenberg demonstrates her skill as a consummate storyteller, honed and refined over a catalogue that ranges from epic fantasy to zombie thrillers. Here, she has constructed a highly imaginative tale supported with strong messages of family, loyalty, and undying love. Through her due diligence and the support of Prince Navor, his father and mother, the King Parven and Queen Kika the Island Kingdoms, Sitnalta must find a way to defeat King Wilhelm and restore her world to the way it was before. This tales’ tapestry tale is woven around a heroic fight against seemingly impossible odds. In the end, there is a strong suggestion of the sequel, an upcoming third book of the series that hints of a new wrinkle, a past relationship between the wizard Kralc and Sitnalta’s mother, Learsi.

In case you are pondering the origin of the strange names of the characters of this series and a way to remember them, try this first. Some, though not all, are common names or those of mythical places that have been spelled backwards. Others were suggested by the author’s children or other relatives.

Based on publisher supplied for review copy.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Kingdom Thief.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
August 15, 2015 – Finished Reading
August 20, 2015 – Shelved

No comments have been added yet.