Kiwi's Reviews > Leaves of Grass

Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1442723
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: 2015, poetry

Mostly I am thrilled to have FINALLY FINISHED THIS after I'd been working on it for something like three years. Now I'm on to different poetry and very much appreciating that.

I was about to write up a review of my own, which I didn't really want to, when I read my friend's review here and it about covered what I wanted to say.

Many people I love dearly love this book, and for that I can hold it with certain respect, but it was not for me. Some of the poems were brilliant; others were difficult for me to get through. That's the point of the thing, really: that it's everything he wrote, the good and the structured and the sculpted and the...not so much any of those.

I've dogeared the ones that got to me, so should someday I chose to read it again, I can just read the ones I liked!
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Leaves of Grass.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 16, 2014 – Started Reading
July 16, 2014 – Shelved
Finished Reading
January 12, 2015 –
page 210
39.77% "This is slow going. I don't think freeform and long lists are my thing. I *will* finish this before 2016. It's one of my resolutions."
January 12, 2015 –
page 214
40.53% "This is slow going. I don't think freeform and long lists are my thing. I *will* finish this before 2016. It's one of my resolutions."
January 17, 2015 –
page 216
40.91% "This is slow going. I don't think freeform and long lists are my thing. I *will* finish this before 2016. It's one of my resolutions."
January 19, 2015 –
page 220
41.67% "This is slow going. I don't think freeform and long lists are my thing. I *will* finish this before 2016. It's one of my resolutions."
February 2, 2015 –
page 225
42.61% "This is slow going. I don't think freeform and long lists are my thing. I *will* finish this before 2016. It's one of my resolutions."
February 2, 2015 –
page 220
41.67% "It looks as though I may possibly be coming to another good section..."
February 3, 2015 –
page 235
44.51% "O endless lists of people, occupations and places..."
February 7, 2015 –
page 245
46.4%
February 15, 2015 –
page 245
46.4%
February 15, 2015 –
page 251
47.54%
March 5, 2015 –
page 270
51.14%
April 5, 2015 –
page 292
55.3%
December 3, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015
December 3, 2015 – Shelved as: poetry

No comments have been added yet.