Mo's Reviews > Drums of Autumn

Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11856352
's review

it was amazing



Another epic read. This will be a quick review as I dinna have the time to do a full one.

It took me two weeks to read this one. Granted it coincided with the start of holidays so that usually means less reading time for me. I LOVED it, I LOVE Jamie, I LOVE Jamie and Claire.


Roger and Brianna, yes, you got it, I loved them too.


You need patience to read these books. They are verra long indeed. So much goes on in them. Won't say much as you are better off experiencing all things Outlander fresh and new!


Even Lord John melted my heart a little.


A lot happens in this book. Did it drag for me? No, not really. I hear the next one is a bit drawn out!

Ian, what a brave lad he is.



“You are my courage, as I am your conscience," he whispered.
"You are my heart---and I your compassion.
We are neither of us whole, alone.
Do ye not know that, Sassenach?”



I might take a wee break now from all things Outlander, although I did say that after I finished Book 3!!
69 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Drums of Autumn.
Sign In »

Quotes Mo Liked

Diana Gabaldon
“I've never been afraid of ghosts. I live with them daily, after all. When I look in a mirror, my mother's eyes look back at me; my mouth curls with the smile that lured my great-grandfather to the fate that was me. No, how should I fear the touch of those vanished hands, laid on me in love unknowing? How could I be afraid of those that molded my flesh, leaving their remnants to live long past the grave?...All the time the ghosts flit past and through us, hiding in the future. We look in the mirror and see shades of other faces looking back through the years; we see the shape of memory, standing solid in an empty doorway. By blood and by choice, we make our own ghosts; we haunt ourselves.”
Diana Gabaldon, Drums of Autumn


Reading Progress

July 4, 2014 – Started Reading
July 4, 2014 – Shelved
July 4, 2014 –
0.0% "I couldna help myself. Had to head back to Jamie."
July 5, 2014 –
7.0% ""My mother always said men in kilts were irresistible. I guess she was right."\n \n "
July 5, 2014 –
9.0% "We have Bodhrans in Ireland also.\n \n "
July 6, 2014 –
12.0% "There is one riverbank scene... OMG, seriously hot. Bless Jamie, he is now 45 (I think) but he can still blush.\n \n "
July 9, 2014 –
23.0% ""Do ye not understand?" he said, in near desperation. "I would lay the world at your feet, Claire - and I have nothing to give ye!"\n \n "
July 10, 2014 –
31.0% "Can these two not stay out of harm's way?\n \n "
July 11, 2014 –
37.0% "I dinna ken, Claire....\n \n "
July 12, 2014 –
41.0% ""
July 12, 2014 –
42.0% ""Hush, mo chridhe,. It's alright now, you're safe."\n \n "
July 12, 2014 –
42.0% "I am six days into this book and am wondering "can I continue?...(I usually read a book in a day or two at the most) then, I see a picture like this on Pinterest and say HELL, TO THE YEAH!!\n \n "
July 14, 2014 –
47.0% ""
July 14, 2014 –
48.0% "Averaging about 3 pages a day on my holidays. Might be finished the series by this time next year!"
July 14, 2014 –
50.0% "Joana, think you are right, I kinda like him now....\n \n "
July 16, 2014 –
57.0% ""
July 16, 2014 –
60.0% "Brianna?\n \n \n "
July 17, 2014 –
61.0% "Roger? \n \n "
July 17, 2014 –
62.0% "Heads he lives and tails he dies ...\n \n "
July 17, 2014 –
63.0% "Och, Roger, started off thinking you were a bit of a drip, but, I ken you are a bit like Jamie!!\n \n "
July 18, 2014 –
67.0% ""
July 18, 2014 –
70.0% "I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,\n And a small cabin build there, \n of clay and wattles made:\n Nine bean-rows will I have there, \n a hive for the honey-bee;\n And live alone in the bee-loud glade.\n \n I have been to Innisfree and also to Yeat's grave.... love anything Irish in a book - if it is done right!"
July 18, 2014 –
71.0% ""Oh dear Mother." she murmured, over and over. "O Blessed Mother, what have I done?\n \n Yeah, WTF have ya done lassie???"
July 18, 2014 –
71.0% "FFS, Brianna, what the fuck is that about... please say it isna so."
July 18, 2014 –
72.0% "Bonnet has to be Irish, doesn't he! Wanker.\n \n "
July 18, 2014 –
73.0% "My God, he thought, I'm going to die before I've been born.\n \n "
July 19, 2014 –
74.0% "Feck this! \n \n "
July 19, 2014 –
79.0% "Jamie.... and Ian, bet you feel a bit daft now!\n \n "
July 19, 2014 –
81.0% ""I will bring him home to you ... or I will not come back myself."\n \n "
July 19, 2014 –
84.0% "Bloody hell, Roger. Would be nice to be in a pub in Inverness or Edinburgh now, mate!\n \n "
July 20, 2014 –
94.0% ""
July 20, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-36 of 36 (36 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Rachel Reads Ravenously I love this review! Makes me want to go and read the second book, where I left off :)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ great review Mo...ur really cruising through these!


Karen Fantastic!!!! I'm so happy you're loving Jamie and Claire!!! You keep saying break... yet you are still going!!! It is such an incredible series. Keep going. You will love it all.

My reading has slowed to a screeching halt. I was out of town for a week and I am in full blown withdrawal. I did finish North and South!!! OMG SO GOOD!!!! Now I'm watching the miniseries... Damn... John Thornton is HOT!!!! I want HIM!!!! Such an amazing story. Anyway, I'm back now, playing catch up. Hope I didn't miss too much.

Oh... and great review!!!


♥Sharon♥ Fantastic review, Mo. And your update pics are amazing too. xo


Joana Fab review Mo. :)
I so agree with you, the books are massive but so worth the reading. They are just fantastic and well, Jamie and Claire are epic.


message 6: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Rachel (Reads Ravenously) wrote: "I love this review! Makes me want to go and read the second book, where I left off :)"

Thanks Rachel.


message 7: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo ✽ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ✽ wrote: "great review Mo...ur really cruising through these!"

Thanks Sharon. Not sure about "cruising" but getting there.


message 8: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Joana wrote: "Fab review Mo. :)
I so agree with you, the books are massive but so worth the reading. They are just fantastic and well, Jamie and Claire are epic."


Thanks Joana! See you for the next one.


message 9: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Karen wrote: "Fantastic!!!! I'm so happy you're loving Jamie and Claire!!! You keep saying break... yet you are still going!!! It is such an incredible series. Keep going. You will love it all.

My readin..."


I was wondering where ya were lasss!! I know I am in Ireland and getting very little reading done. Thanks.


message 10: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Yes, Karen, John Thornton, sigh!


message 11: by Brandi (new)

Brandi Great review, Mo! :)


message 12: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Brandi wrote: "Great review, Mo! :)"

Thanks Brandi.


message 13: by Christy (new)

Christy Wonderful review, Mo! :)


message 14: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Christy wrote: "Wonderful review, Mo! :)"

Thanks Christy.


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lovely review, Mo.
2 weeks must be a record long read for you? lol
Hope the holiday is going well xxx


message 16: by Amy | Foxy Blogs (new)

Amy | Foxy Blogs Great review!!! Looks like a great series!


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Wonderful review babes!! Love that pic of The guy in a kilt in your updates!!


message 18: by Wendy'sThoughts (new)

Wendy'sThoughts so amazing, This is just too good. :D


message 19: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Mo.
2 weeks must be a record long read for you? lol
Hope the holiday is going well xxx"


Guinnes world record for me ixxx.


message 20: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Great review!!! Looks like a great series!"

Yes it is Amy. xx


message 21: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Shannie⭐️this Whore Loves BIG C##KS⭐️ wrote: "Wonderful review babes!! Love that pic of The guy in a kilt in your updates!!"

Yes, Shannie, the man in the kilt is HOT.


message 22: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Wendy'sThoughts wrote: "so amazing, This is just too good. :D"

xoxoxo


message 23: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Wonderful review Mo!! So glad you are loving this series ;o))


message 24: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Thanks Sammy


message 25: by Didi (new)

Didi Lovely review Mo! Can't wait for the tv series.


message 26: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Watched the first one tonight


Chris-Wait-For-It-Awesome HOW??????????????????????????? WHEREEEEEEEEEEEE?????????????


message 28: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Chris-Wait-For-It-Awesome wrote: "HOW??????????????????????????? WHEREEEEEEEEEEEE?????????????"

Well as you live in the States I am sure you could watch it directly on STarz.com.


Chris-Wait-For-It-Awesome SQUEEEE!!! I knew it was a mistake not checking the site for the last couple of weeks!!!


message 30: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Hope you love it


message 31: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Mo wrote: "Chris-Wait-For-It-Awesome wrote: "HOW??????????????????????????? WHEREEEEEEEEEEEE?????????????"

Well as you live in the States I am sure you could watch it directly on STarz.com."


Hahahahahahaha, I missed it too!!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Awesome review Mo! So happy you re-enjoyed.


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ Sorry I missed your fab review Mo!!


message 34: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ wrote: "Sorry I missed your fab review Mo!!"

SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Awesome review Mo! So happy you re-enjoyed."

Thanks ladies.


message 35: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Fantastic review girl!! I just LOVE all of your graphics. *sighs* Jamie is just so amazing! The most loyal, faithful, lovable, sweet, alpha male there is. I just haven't read anyone that compares. I am still in the middle of this book. It is a little slower for me than books 1-3 but I am savoring every word and moment with Jamie and Claire :)


message 36: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Rachel wrote: "Fantastic review girl!! I just LOVE all of your graphics. *sighs* Jamie is just so amazing! The most loyal, faithful, lovable, sweet, alpha male there is. I just haven't read anyone that compares. ..."

Thanks Rachel, he is perfect.


back to top