Judy Collins's Reviews > Creep

Creep by Jennifer Hillier
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11063006
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: addiction, books-read-in-2014, debut-novel, drama, thriller, suspense, psychological-thriller

CREEP, a debut novel by Jennifer Hillier, involves a sex addict, an alcoholic, an unbalanced grad student, and his girlfriend, for a suspense drama of secrets, lies, and madness.

Shelia Tao, 39, is a highly regarded professor of social psychology at Seattle’s Puget Sound University. She is engaged to an alcoholic, Morris Gardner, a successful Texas investment banker, a man who offers her love and security. After her first marriage ended when she caught her husband sleeping with his male nurse, she experienced a difficult period, as she was seeking validation of herself as an attractive woman.

After going through the recovery process, she began dating Morris, and all was going well, until, after the death of her father, she relapsed and began an affair with her handsome young graduate student, Ethan.

Three months into the affair, Shelia decided to end things with Ethan, as she wants to build a life with Morris, as they are making wedding plans. However, manipulative Ethan does not want her to marry Morris and has other things in mind. He begins to blackmail her with a videotape.

Shelia is a former Sex Addict and has been attending Sex Addicts Anonymous for three years and seeing a therapist, Anna (Morris was unaware of this). Shelia decided to come clean with Morris about her sex addiction. He is shocked since they have not had sex until attempting once, and it did not go well. However, Morris, at the time, did not know who the affair was with or about the tape.

In the meantime Shelia goes missing, and Morris hires a PI, Jerry since the police are not assisting. Morris is not sure if she has been kidnapped or if she is off with a man, or some crazy adventure. Ethan is unbalanced with a troubled past and has many disguises and masks.

I listened to the audiobook and Talmadge Ragan, the narrator, did an excellent job with a pleasing voice. While CREEP was an engaging read, I would not classify it as a complex psychological thriller until towards the end.

It was not as intense, or as fast-paced as her latest upcoming book, THE BUTCHER; however, was even paced with a twisted surprise at the end, leading into the sequel FREAK (Creep #2), which I plan on reading next, as looking forward to hearing from Shelia, Jerry, and Abby.

Fans of Daniel Palmer, Lisa Gardner, and Gregg Hurwitz will appreciate Jennifer’s style and well-developed characters.

If you loved CREEP, you will devour THE BUTCHER!

#JDCMustReadBooks
9 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Creep.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 26, 2014 – Shelved
June 26, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
June 28, 2014 – Started Reading
June 29, 2014 –
page 75
21.01%
June 29, 2014 –
page 100
28.01%
June 30, 2014 –
page 200
56.02%
June 30, 2014 –
page 300
84.03%
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: addiction
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: books-read-in-2014
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: debut-novel
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: drama
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: thriller
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: suspense
June 30, 2014 – Shelved as: psychological-thriller
June 30, 2014 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.