Heather K (dentist in my spare time)'s Reviews > Divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
13070326


I'm going to do something that I have never done before. I'm going to rate this book lower than every single one of my Goodreads friends. Do you know why?

Because I hated the CRAP out of this book.

Now what follows might offend some lovers of this book. To "Divergent" fans: I'm sorry I'm going to rip on one of your favorite books. But honestly I almost wish I had this in paperback form so I could get the satisfaction of throwing it in the garbage. With gusto. Or maybe the fireplace...

Let me start with the "world building", which I put in quotation marks because the world building here is some of the laziest that I have ever seen. Basically, the author explains that the society was split up into five factions, Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent), because of... reasons. Something vaguely alluded to a war and the factions splitting up bringing peace. Then all the world building is dropped. It just is. The splitting up into factions made absolutely no sense and it wasn't further explained at all.

On to the absolutely ridiculous way the factions were described. It was like a pre-teen girl was describing what was "cool" or "dangerous" or "boring" when the factions were given their unofficial dress codes. The Dauntless wore tattoos and black, because, you know, black is sooooo fearless. Also they had lots of piercings, which obviously translates to the recklessness of the Dauntless faction because God forbid the smarties get a piercing! And the Abnegation wore gray because gray clearly means you care for others. It was like a joke it was all so stupid.



Speaking of the Dauntless, what the F is with them and their trains? Is there any purpose of these trains? I know there are cars in this world so why don't the Dauntless drive cars? Do they want to be hobo-chic? They are always jumping on and off their trains. Is there is schedule? It seems mighty inconvenient. And these trains never seem to stop? Who designed this horrible system. And why do the Dauntless live underground? Because they just felt like it??? Another case of the horrible world building... *gah*

And the totally pointless initiation process of the Dauntless? TOTALLY pointless! It wasn't like "The Hunger Games" when the games actually served a purpose, these initiation fights and trials seemed so trivial that I couldn't care less one way or another what happened in them. It was dumb, dumb, dumb. *bangs head on wall*



I have to get to my mother of all pet peeves about this book: the idea of people being Divergent, or basically more than one faction. This has to be one of the most poorly executed concepts in the history of dystopian fiction. I have to ask, why is Tris so freaking special?? Multiple times it is mentioned that you can be shown to have an aptitude for one faction yet get initiated in a different one of your choosing. So wouldn't those people be Divergent????? If you can hack it in more than one faction, don't you possess the traits of both of those factions? Also, the transfers from other factions still possess traits of their home factions. Candors still tell the truth, Erudites still spout knowledge, and so on and so forth to infinity. So what made Tris such a special snowflake?? Why is she Divergent when the rest are just brushed aside???



I can't, I can't even...

And the romance... just NO. It felt so forced that it made me uncomfortable. We get almost no character development from Four and he had about as much chemistry with Tris as oil and water have together. It was painful, just painful.

Tris herself was also a terrible character. I didn't care for her at all. She was judgmental and irritating and NOTHING that I want in a heroine.

I was so annoyed with this book that the killings (which made no sense, by the way, because they seemed to serve no purpose, unlike in Red Rising or The Hunger Games) failed to move me at all. I didn't care one iota. Does that make me a horrible person?

I'm mad I wasted precious reading time with this book. I'm mad it is almost 500 pages of garbage. I'm mad that I'm the only one of my friends that hated it so I have no one else on my side.

I give up.
317 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Divergent.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 26, 2014 – Started Reading
May 26, 2014 – Shelved
May 26, 2014 – Shelved as: group-reading-challenge
May 26, 2014 –
10.0% "I think this is stupid already. I hope it improves."
May 26, 2014 –
25.0% "I'm HATING this."
May 27, 2014 –
58.0% "One of the worst books I have read in a long time. I'm ragey at this point."
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: romance
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: m-f
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: little-to-no-sex-content
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: hype-hype-hype
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: hated-it
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: everyone-else-loves-it
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: dystopia
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: young-adult
May 27, 2014 – Shelved as: ranty-review
May 28, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 135 (135 new)


message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Owwn, sorry you're not liking it. :P Do you usually like dystopia?


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Lola wrote: "Owwn, sorry you're not liking it. :P Do you usually like dystopia?"

Yes I do but don't worry, I'm all prepared to hate this book by myself because all of my other friends liked it. :(


message 3: by Trisha (new)

Trisha Harrington Great review, Heather! :) You're not the first person I know to have hated this book, but I'm sorry you're the only one on your friends list. Hopefully the next book you read will be much better than this one. xD


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Trisha wrote: "Great review, Heather! :) You're not the first person I know to have hated this book, but I'm sorry you're the only one on your friends list. Hopefully the next book you read will be much better th..."

Thanks! I read some reviews of people that hated it and i completely agreed with them! I'm just baffled that so many of my friends with really excellent taste loved this! It might be a "it's not you, it's me thing"???


message 5: by Trisha (new)

Trisha Harrington Heather K (dentist in my spare time) wrote: "Trisha wrote: "Great review, Heather! :) You're not the first person I know to have hated this book, but I'm sorry you're the only one on your friends list. Hopefully the next book you read will be..."

It could be, I guess. I know one of my close friends said she despised the MC and that was one of many issues she had with the book.


message 6: by Giulio (new)

Giulio I love when you get bitchy :)


message 7: by Vivian (new)

Vivian Unless there is compelling evidence to the contrary, I avoid YA.


message 8: by Ana_P (last edited May 27, 2014 11:26PM) (new)

Ana_P Great review, Heather! Sorry it did not work out for you, hon! :( I can definitely understand what annoyed you about the book. Maybe this is your sign to come back over to the dark side (a.k.a. M/M)... :P Or if you're not ready yet, that's cool too...I guess. Buahaha! I'm just kidding. Here's to hoping that your next read is actually enjoyable, whatever genre it may be! *crosses fingers*

Vivian, I agree. I'm also not a huge fan of YA and will only read it if a book is just really special and magnificent and M/M of course. I've read many YA books during my teenage years, and the only ones I still really like and will wax poetic about are Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, and Libba Bray's books. Everything else just seems bleh... *shrugs*


Nenia ✨ I yeet my books back and forth ✨ Campbell My friend lent this to me and I'm afraid to start it because I'm pretty sure I'm going to hate it. You're not alone, darling. ♥ And I love your review! :D


message 10: by Ana_P (new)

Ana_P I just saw what you were currently reading: Heart Knot Mine
description
Just couldn't stay away from the dark side long, could ya?
I'm just yanking your chain.
Welcome back, girlie, to Natasha's mountain of men!


message 11: by Beth (new)

Beth I think you're the first person I've seen that didn't have awesome feels about this book. I personally haven't read it but your review makes me glad that I haven't


message 12: by Emma Sea (new)

Emma Sea I love your review, Heather.


Marte - Thunderella Go, Heather! I like your review :)


message 14: by Lori (new) - added it

Lori Love the review Heather. This is one I want to try - when I can drag myself away from mm. I know what it's like to be a lone disliker...I think I'm the only person in the entire world who didn't like The Hunger Games. I rad it before I had a gr acc though so, while I rated it, I wouldn't be able to review it properly without re-reading it. And that is NOT going to happen!


message 15: by Liz (new) - added it

Liz Kittencat I'm on your side xD! Totally.
Wise your words xD!
I laughed a lot (love de gif "posers") and your review make me feel hope, Really.


message 16: by ᴥ Irena ᴥ (new)

ᴥ Irena ᴥ Loved the review, Heather. :)
I have this on my to-read list, but still haven't got around to start because I usually avoid the books that are too hyped (or leave them for later). Of course, there are some exceptions, but most hyped ones end up on 'for later' pile.


Karla Slusher oh im so sorry you didn't like it! :-( I felt that way about the hunger games though, and all my friends raved about it.


message 18: by Kat (new) - added it

Kat BUAHA! Great rant. The worldbuilding didn't make sense indeed. I remember being annoyed by the simplicity of it all. Though I'm glad that I read this book back in the day, when I was still easily impressed.:p


message 19: by Angela (new)

Angela Oh maaan, sorry for your pain Heather, but this review was 12 kinds of AWESOME!!! XD


message 20: by AH (new) - added it

AH OK. Now I don't feel so bad. For some reason, I have no desire to read this book. I don't know why, but I just can't. Great review!


message 21: by Tiya (new) - rated it 3 stars

Tiya Rosa Great review, Heather! I agree with every single point you made - headdesks and eyerolls galore almost the entire time I was reading this book. Except, halfway through, I decided to suspend my disbelief - nay, bludgeon it to death - and the book improved dramatically. Still with the eyerolls and headdesks, but got riveted to the action. :D


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Giulio wrote: "I love when you get bitchy :)"

LOL! I still can't bring myself to curse! I'm the prissiest grumpy reviewer ever! ;)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Vivian wrote: "Unless there is compelling evidence to the contrary, I avoid YA."

YA is certainly hit or miss!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Ana_P wrote: "I just saw what you were currently reading: Heart Knot Mine

Just couldn't stay away from the dark side long, could ya?
I'm just yanking your chain.
Welcome back, girlie, to Natasha..."


Yup! I needed a good old M/M after that one!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Nenia wrote: "My friend lent this to me and I'm afraid to start it because I'm pretty sure I'm going to hate it. You're not alone, darling. ♥ And I love your review! :D"

Thank you! Maybe try it so I'm not all alone :)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Bethany wrote: "I think you're the first person I've seen that didn't have awesome feels about this book. I personally haven't read it but your review makes me glad that I haven't"

I'm so lonely in my hatred of this book. It was my local book club's book of the month and the meeting is on Thursday. I'm going to see if anyone else hates it!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Emma Sea wrote: "I love your review, Heather."

Mwah! Thanks :)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Marte wrote: "Go, Heather! I like your review :)"

:D Thanks Marte!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Lori wrote: "Love the review Heather. This is one I want to try - when I can drag myself away from mm. I know what it's like to be a lone disliker...I think I'm the only person in the entire world who didn't li..."

You never know, you might love it! But I kind of want you to hate it so someone else rates it one star!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Elizabetha wrote: "I'm on your side xD! Totally.
Wise your words xD!
I laughed a lot (love de gif "posers") and your review make me feel hope, Really."


Thanks honey! :D


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Irena wrote: "Loved the review, Heather. :)
I have this on my to-read list, but still haven't got around to start because I usually avoid the books that are too hyped (or leave them for later). Of course, there..."


I also avoided this for so long because of the hype. It was a crushing let down, as hyped books often are.


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Karla wrote: "oh im so sorry you didn't like it! :-( I felt that way about the hunger games though, and all my friends raved about it."

To each their own! So many of my friends 5 starred it. And I really liked HG so you never know!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Loederkoningin wrote: "BUAHA! Great rant. The worldbuilding didn't make sense indeed. I remember being annoyed by the simplicity of it all. Though I'm glad that I read this book back in the day, when I was still easily i..."

I might have liked this more 3 or 4 years ago. Now, not so much. ;)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Angela wrote: "Oh maaan, sorry for your pain Heather, but this review was 12 kinds of AWESOME!!! XD"

Thank you!! :D


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) AH wrote: "OK. Now I don't feel so bad. For some reason, I have no desire to read this book. I don't know why, but I just can't. Great review!"

Thank you! I would tell you to stay away but what do I know!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Tiya wrote: "Great review, Heather! I agree with every single point you made - headdesks and eyerolls galore almost the entire time I was reading this book. Except, halfway through, I decided to suspend my disb..."

Thank you! I'm glad you were able to like it in the end :)


message 37: by Nick (new)

Nick Pageant I've been mildly curious about these books. Thanks for curing me of that.


message 38: by [deleted user] (last edited May 28, 2014 06:18AM) (new)

Great review Heather! I know how it feels to be the odd man out among friends. I recently read Dangerously Happy and hated it with the passion of a thousand suns.

Want to know the main reason I liked Divergent?



That's the actor that portrayed Four.

I saw the movie first and that was in my head the whole time.

I can forgive nearly anything for that level of pretty.


message 39: by Sheziss (new)

Sheziss Definitely, I'm not touching this book even with a stick xD .


message 40: by Vero (new)

Vero dito...


message 41: by Kathleen (new)

Kathleen The movie was awful...


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Tina wrote: "Great review Heather! I know how it feels to be the odd man out among friends. I recently read Dangerously Happy and hated it with the passion of a thousand suns.

Want to know the..."


Ohhh he is hot!! I might have sided with you if I saw this picture first ;)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Nick wrote: "I've been mildly curious about these books. Thanks for curing me of that."

Glad to be of service :)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Sheziss wrote: "Definitely, I'm not touching this book even with a stick xD ."

Lots of people loved it but.... ugh, the thought of reading it again is making me frown and I NEVER frown! :)


message 45: by Paisley (new)

Paisley awesome review! you had me at trains


Captain Although I really enjoyed this book (it was literally one of the first things I read after finishing my undergrad degree, so anything fluffy and fictional was awesome). Looking back I completely agree with you! You pretty much covered all of the issues I had with the book. Hopefully the next two will cover some of these plot holes.


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Sara wrote: "Although I really enjoyed this book (it was literally one of the first things I read after finishing my undergrad degree, so anything fluffy and fictional was awesome). Looking back I completely ag..."

:) I think I'll stop at this one. I don't want to be all ragey at this series any more then I have to!


message 48: by Bee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Bee This is funny, because your reaction to Divergent is basically my reaction to Allegiant... but I actually LOVED Divergent. I think I wanted to believe that all the reasons and explanations would come later in the series (they don't), but I also liked Tris and Four in this book but didn't like them as much in the latter books. I don't know if it's because I've grown as a reader or if I just perceived this book in a very different way. It's so much fun to see people's reactions to it though :) I'm sure you're not alone :P


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Bee wrote: "This is funny, because your reaction to Divergent is basically my reaction to Allegiant... but I actually LOVED Divergent. I think I wanted to believe that all the reasons and explanations would co..."

Another reason for me not to continue with the series!!

I just saw how young this author is. It totally makes sense now. But doesn't excuse anything for me.


message 50: by [deleted user] (new)

This review was boss. End of story. Almost makes me want to change my rating. Almost.


« previous 1 3
back to top