Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie 's Reviews > Reboot

Reboot by Amy Tintera
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11641363


Wait for it, I'm about to launch into some intense rambling!

Since I've started this, dare I say, YA Experiment of sorts. I've realised a few things about my reading habits. First of all, contrary to popular belief I am not a newbie when it comes to YA PNR, sci-fi and fantasy, once upon a time that used to be all I read, it's probably been about four years since I was strictly just a YA reader. But I will also add that the YA genre has changed a lot, for the better thank goodness. Back to my realisations: I've come to realise that I absolutely love Dystopia, as in I would cuddle with it, if it was possible. Secondly I can't say I'm much of a fantasy or mythology fan, yes there are the odd books in between but what really gets me going is futuristic, dystopian, government secrets, super powers and thriller type stories.

Now about the book: Reboot by Amy Tintera
While reading this book, I convinced myself that I was a Reboot and and to anyone who tried to tell me different, my reaction would have probably been something like this:



Tintera took Zombies and gave them an even more lethal twist! We're introduced to a Dystopian America, where disease, famine and poverty are rife, there are slums everywhere. We have the KDH virus, it's fatal, but there's this one little thing about it. If it kills you, you either die like any normal person would or you wake up (Reboot) the longer it takes for you to wake up, the more powerful you are as a Reboot. Wren aka 178, died when she was 12 years old, three bullets to the chest, she woke up 178 minutes later. She's the highest number in her facility and the most lethal. No one messes with her. That's until a new batch of newbies (fresh Reboots) arrive, and among them is Callum aka 22, he woke up after just 22 minutes, he's the weakest Reboot in the lot, which mean he's also the most human.

As you might have guessed, Humans fear what they do not understand. So basically Reboot have become enslaved, they now work for the humans doing their dirty work. Reboots have become a way for an organisation called HARC to control society. HARC portrays the Reboots as unfeeling monsters, who's only use is working protecting society even to their own detriment. Wren has never questioned her life as a Reboot in the facility, she's never had reason to. The life she remembers before she was a Reboot was filled with hunger, druggie parents and the filth of the slums, she's never known any better. Until her only frien, Ever starts showing weird symptoms. And with Callum in the picture, for the first time she thinks she may know what it feels like to be wanted. She begins to question how the humans see and treat her.

Sounds intense right? Well it was!



***WARNING: HERE BE INSTA_LOVE***


Their attraction is instant, uncanny. Seriously Callum was head over heels the instant he saw Wren and it was fucking cute! The amount of cuddling and kissing and adorable words that left Callum's mouth gave me little butterflies in my tummy. If this boy was real I would devour him, that's how sweet he was.

Reboot is jammed packed with action, mystery and romance. This is one of those books that could probably be an awesome movie! Reading this book was exciting and the writing was easy and flowed well. It sucked me right in, when I read a book I'd like to feel like I'm a part of the story instead of a bystander. I'm shameless, I'm gonna market this one and tell you, look even if you don't want to read it, if you have a teenager. Let her read it!
34 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Reboot.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 13, 2014 – Shelved
May 13, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
May 17, 2014 – Started Reading
May 17, 2014 –
13.0% "A few of the girls had scars from their human death, but not like mine. I was dead for so long that by the time they got around to sewing up my three bullet holes, my body thought that's what my skin was supposed to look like. The result was four permanent ugly silver staples holding my skin together in the middle of my chest.\n "
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: creepy-or-weird
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: crime-mystery
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: dystopian
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: favourites
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: give-this-author-a-bells
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: fantasy-and-magic
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: thriller-suspense
May 18, 2014 – Shelved as: young-adult
May 18, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-40 of 40 (40 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Great review Christine!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) LOL!!! Fantastic review babe! Also your first graphic creeps me out, but it's cool-looking too ;)


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Great review, Christine! I can't wait to read this one ;)


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Awesome review babe :)) I'm reading this next :D


message 6: by Brandi (new) - added it

Brandi Fantastic review, Christine! Adding this one :)


message 7: by Karla (new)

Karla loved loved your review!! another one for my tbr!!! (:


message 8: by Plamena (new)

Plamena Great review, Christine! :) xx


message 9: by Christy (new)

Christy WOnderful review, Christine! :)


message 10: by Purva (new)

Purva Awesome review Christine, as always :)


message 11: by Mo (new)

Mo Great review, Christine.


message 12: by Debra (new)

Debra Awesome review Christine!! xx


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Mysza wrote: "Great review Christine!"

Thanks so uch, Mysza!!!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "LOL!!! Fantastic review babe! Also your first graphic creeps me out, but it's cool-looking too ;)"

Hehehehe, I aim to creep you out :P Thanks, Babe!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Jessica (Rabid Reads) wrote: "Great review, Christine! I can't wait to read this one ;)"

Thank you, Jessica :))


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Awesome review babe :)) I'm reading this next :D"

Thanks, Babe xoxo


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie ✽ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ✽ wrote: "great review Christine!"

Thanks a lot, Sharon!!!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Brandi wrote: "Fantastic review, Christine! Adding this one :)"

Thanks, Brandi!!! Hope you enjoy it :))


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Karla wrote: "loved loved your review!! another one for my tbr!!! (:"

Awww, thanks Karla :))


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Plamena wrote: "Great review, Christine! :) xx"

Thanks so much, Plamena xxx


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Christy wrote: "WOnderful review, Christine! :)"

Thanks, Christy!!!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Sonia ღ wrote: "Awesome review Christine, as always :)"

Thanks so much, Sonia ;)


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Mo wrote: "Great review, Christine."

Thanks so much , Mo :D


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Debra wrote: "Awesome review Christine!! xx"

Thanks, Debz xoxo


message 25: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Awesome review Christine! xx


message 26: by Baba (new)

Baba  Fab review, Christine!


message 27: by Patrycja (new) - added it

Patrycja AWESOME review, babe xx


message 28: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • GREAT review junkie babes x


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Amazing review, Christine! <3


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Wonderful review, Christine ;) xxx


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Fab review, Christine!"

Thanks, Baba :)))


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Patrycja wrote: "AWESOME review, babe xx"

Thanks so much, Patrycja!!! xx


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Lisa Jayne wrote: "GREAT review junkie babes x"

Thanks, Sunshine!!! xoxo


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Amazing review, Christine! <3"

Thanks so much, Lkay <3


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Wonderful review, Christine ;) xxx"

Thank you, Jxxx!!! xoxo


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Vilda wrote: "Ohhh, interesting looking! Great review, Christine. :D Glad it was such a hit!"

Thanks, Vilda :)))


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ Fantastic review Christine.....told my daughter about it!! :-))


message 38: by Didi (new)

Didi Awesome review Christine! Adding ;)


message 39: by Luv2read (new) - added it

Luv2read Fantastic review Christine! I love these dystopian type books as well. I am definitely reading this one. Love your gifs too btw!


ღFloღ the coffee addict Awesome review, Christine! Dystopia isn't my kind of thing, but I love your review. ;D


back to top