Lala BooksandLala's Reviews > The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
31027440
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: paranormal, favourites

Regardless of the flaws, this story captivated me. Everything was too easy, the characters too clichéd, the romance too center stage, considering the "paranormal" genre it's put in..but I'm still hooked, feeling very "*~omg omg noah shaw*♡"
73 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 6, 2014 – Shelved
May 6, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
March 1, 2015 – Started Reading
March 1, 2015 –
page 1
0.22% "I can't believe this book has been out for like 4 years, and I've managed to avoid learning anything about this series. I'm going into this completely blind and soooooo excited!"
March 1, 2015 –
page 200
43.86% "Okay I'm sold on Noah. I shouldn't be, as he's just written to be TOO perfect (I mean, come on, he's English, attractive, charming, a total ladies man, rich..it's just too easy) but I'm hooked."
March 1, 2015 –
page 210
46.05% "Plus I mean...he's suddenly total infatuated with our (sorry, but pretty mediocre) main character, just like that? All of a sudden he's totally smitten and treating her like no other girl that came before? Again, it's just too easy."
March 1, 2015 –
page 300
65.79% "Literally what is happening.."
March 1, 2015 –
page 340
74.56% "No but seriously, what is happening?!?!"
March 1, 2015 –
page 400
87.72% "This book is making ME feel crazy."
March 27, 2015 – Shelved as: paranormal
June 16, 2016 –
page 78
17.11% "swoon swoon swoon"
June 16, 2016 –
page 78
17.11% "he's too perfect, he's written just to be the perfect love interest, and I can't help but fall for it."
June 16, 2016 –
page 90
19.74% "SWOON CITY"
June 16, 2016 –
page 120
26.32% "I DIE."
June 16, 2016 –
page 120
26.32% ""I've been slandered." MY GOD"
June 16, 2016 –
page 142
31.14% "slut shaming and a no-personality ex-girlfriend. my favourite things."
June 16, 2016 –
page 176
38.6% "Still dying."
June 17, 2016 –
page 224
49.12% "Oh gosh. he's so controlling. but it's supposed to be forgiven because he's so hot and rich and charming etc. (I was SUCH an uncritical reader the first time I read this)"
June 17, 2016 –
page 250
54.82% "aaaand he's unstable."
June 17, 2016 –
page 254
55.7% ""Noah doesn't drive anyone to school." Oh man, the over dramatics."
June 17, 2016 – Finished Reading
October 23, 2018 – Shelved as: favourites

Comments Showing 1-1 of 1 (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Haley I just finished this and now I understand where your "Noah Shaw" answers come from on Youtube :P


back to top