Ingo's Reviews > The Breaking Point

The Breaking Point by Jefferson Bass
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8842081
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: preordered
Recommended for: Fans of Jefferson Bass, Kathy Reichs

Very twisty, as expected bloody, politics (!) the first 1/3 I had a hard time finding out in which year it was supposed to play. For new readers: the series is not published nor written in order, this book is somewhere in between:
After 9/11 but other events mentioned in the books (not in reality) had not happened yet! It is rather late when an exact date is mentioned (I looked, so could not have missed it).
As with other writers in genre (Kathy Reichs comes to mind), this series is hit-or-miss, the books varying in suspense and action. This is one of the best, if not the best of the series.
Personal tragedy is happening, and the case takes a few unexpected turns, which kept me guessing.
Highly recommended, and can be read as a standalone (which may be even less confusing than trying to place this time-whise in the big story of the other books).

This was written by a team, the original inventor who conceived and maintained the "University of Tennessee Anthropological Research Facility" known as the "Body Farm" untill his retirement, Dr. Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson, who first met when Jon made one of a few TV-Documentaries about the Body Farm (although supposed to be very good, not available for purchase on DVD). They wrote a few non-fiction books alone or together about the Body Farm and the so far 8 novels (and a few novellas) of this series. Wikipedia has more about these two and the Body Farm.

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Breaking Point.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.